Weekend In A Flash!

How is it already Sunday evening?! Where does the weekend go? I’m pretty sure the work week should become four days instead of five. I truly believe people would be extremely more productive if they have a three-day weekend. Yes. I am positive.

So how was my short, but satisfying weekend? In a nutshell = jam packed and fabulous. When I last wrote a post on Friday early evening I was looking forward to a mellow weekend. Yeah not so much. I barely stopped moving on Saturday. I can’t complain, as I had a fabulous day filled with friends, family and food (the three F’s of life). So let’s rewind shall we?

Friday night I came home with a serious allergy attack! Not cool! I  popped a Zyrtec and Eric and I walked down to Safeway. So our new apartment complex is literally a 30 second walk to Safeway. This is extremely convenient, but also extremely dangerous as I find myself there almost every day. Before we left for Safeway we had to take care of something: a celebratory Friday drink.

princess sippy cup. represent.

We bought some ingredients for dinner. We were craving roasted vegetables and pizzas. We roasted some broccoli and cauliflower. We coated the veggies in some olive oil and sprinkled garlic powder and italian seasoning on top and baked them at 425 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

delicious roasted vegetables.

When it was time for the pizzas we used La Tortilla factory low carb, high fiber tortillas for the crust. We topped the tortillas with sauteed onions, marinara sauce, sliced tomatoes, mozzarella cheese and basil. We broiled the “pizzas” for about 5-8 minutes until the tortillas became crunchy and browned on the edges.

not so pretty, but SO delicious.

We had a very nice, relaxing dinner at our dining table. This is something we RARELY ever do. I know, its sad and pathetic, but we usually have dinner at the coffee table. So this was a great change of pace and provided some great conversation.

Once dinner was over I had a hankering from some baking! We were headed to a BBQ the next day, so I wanted to bring some sweet goodies! I found this amazing Chocolate Butterscotch Cheesecake Cookie recipe on Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life. Ummm…with those ingredients you cannot go wrong. I highly recommend it.

I started by mixing butter, sugars, applesauce vanilla and 1 box of Jello Sugar Free Cheesecake pudding mix.

butters, sugars, vanilla and Jello Sugar Free Cheesecake

I then mixed in the eggs, flour, baking soda and  baking powder.

mixing machine

After everything was mixed together I gently stirred in half a bag of chocolate chips and half of a bag of butterscotch chips.

cookie dough is dangerous

I may or may not have had a couple of fingers of cookie dough. You bake these for about 8 minutes at 375 until golden brown. Okay. Major embarrassing moment here. I just realized I never took a final picture of the cookies. None whatsoever. So please just imagine how amazing they look. Better yet, visit Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life and see those beauties! Yeah. They were delicious and were GONE in an instant at the BBQ.

Before the BBQ I went to an early morning Body Pump class. Oh my. This one was ROUGH!! The squat and lunge tracks completely owned me. I followed up with 35 minutes of elliptical (still no running :( )while watching Never Been Kissed. I forgot how great that movie was! After the gym Eric and I ran errands like mad! We went to Target, Whole Foods and BevMo to buy some last minute food for the BBQ at Eric’s dads house. Needless to say this took most of the day as we went over to Eric’s dads house at about 3:30 to prep.  Some of Eric’s extended family came over for a big grill-a-thon! It was great fun mingling and eating great food. Here are some photo highlights.

heaven. grilled chicken, vegetables, corn, rice, salsa, chips.

beautiful fruit!

my handsome boyfriend

I woke up this morning sad to send Eric off to Baltimore for work. Okay, I lied. I was still sleeping while he had to wake up at 5 AM to catch his flight. I gave him a very sleepy goodbye from the comforts of my bed.

Needless to say I think I had a bit too much wine last night. I have been moving at a snail’s pace today. I ate some unpictured breakfast of a breakfast cookie and started some household chores. A couple of hours later I had a refreshing pineapple flavored coconut water, almond butter and jam sandwich with half an apple.

simple, yet satisfying

so refreshing!

This stuff is SO good. I typically don’t like to drink my calories (with the exception of wine, champagne and Kombucha), but this is an exception. I immediately felt refreshed and ready to run some errands. And boy, did I run some errands. Target, Safeway, Trader Joes, the library (totally found season 1 and 2 of Sabrina the Teenage Witch…I am so having a date with the DVD player later), Raleys, and another fine food grocery store. Yes I have a bit of an obsession with grocery stores. Since Eric was not around I spent as much time as I wanted in all of the above locations.

I came home exhausted but wanted to cut up some fresh fruit!

blueberries

juicy grapes

After washing and prepping the fruit and putting the rest of my groceries away, I had a little snack consisting of dill pickle spears wrapped in shaved smoked turkey sprinkled with pepper.

pickles in a blanket

I also took some time to rearrange our cabinets and refrigerator. I like cleaning on Sunday so the apartment stays relatively clean the rest of the week. I hate waking up Monday morning with a mess!!

our fully stocked fridge.

please neglect the velveeta in the back. we've had that for FOREVER.

cereals, tea and more!

Now I am sitting back watching a Bridezillas marathon (these women are INSANE but so entertaining) and contemplating what’s for dinner….I’m thinking cheesy broccoli noodles.

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend!

About Sarah
I am a 25 year old girl living in the San Francisco Bay area. I am obsessed with food, wine, running and fashion. I strive to maintain a healthy lifestyle with little indulgences along the way.

2 Responses to Weekend In A Flash!

  1. Awww YAY! I’m so glad you liked the cookies!
    You’ll have to make them again so they last for more than a day – I swear they get softer after sitting for a day or two! :)
    Thanks for the shout out – it also led me to your fantastic blog. Looking forward to more reading!

  2. I spy La Tortillas :)
    Oh and I definitely prefer to eat my calories versus drink them…minus the vino! and Starbucks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

