French Women Don’t Get Fat?

I am writing now as I just finished a fabulous little makeshift dinner. But I’ll get to that later.

So right now I am almost finished reading a good book by Mireille Guiliano entitled French Women Don’t Get Fat. Now, this is not a diet book, so to speak. It is more of a memoir and a guide to eating what you want when you want it. Sounds fabulous, right? Well this book is V. interesting. Basically the author is French, and she studied abroad in the United States for a year when she was eight. She came back to France about twenty pounds heavier. She explains her struggles with maintaining a healthy, happy weight once returning from the United States. She does this rather quickly, and then gives many tips and guidelines on sticking to portions and really enjoying and embracing the food and the company along with the food. I HIGHLY recommend this book, as Guiliano is very insightful. Β She writes:

“I preached the importance of not multitasking while you eat — no TV, newspaper, or eating at the wheel or on the subway. I also suggested that some formaliities can enhance the dining experience and make eating less seem more meaningful. This is the power of presentation…setting one’s table can be nearly as important as preparing the food. It focuses the mind on what lies ahead and whets the appetite, opening it to a fuller experience.”

I completely agree with her. Although it is something I rarely do, I wish I did this more often. I feel that we live in a fast-paced world where we are all on different schedules, but it is so very important to try and find time to sit down and enjoy dinner together as a family, friends, with a book, whatever your situation may be!

She also has a whole chapter dedicated to chocolate and bread (two of my greatest weaknesses).

“French women eat chocolate (about twelve pounds a year on average). They also eat bread (we fought a revolution over it!), another item on our watch list of offenders. But: French women don’t get fat. In fact, here’s another form of the French Paradox: Pretending such pleasures don’t exist, or trying to eliminate them from your diet for an extended time, will probably lead to weight gain. The only long-term effect of deprivation is the yo-yo–down today, but up again before you know it. It’s utterly pointless, especially because both bread and chocolate are good for you.”

And there you have it. It’s refreshing to read things like this, because as I NOW know it is true. I have gone through periods of time where I would feel guilty for eating a cupcake or too much bread or pasta. This is not always a bad thing, but I knew I was eating healthy and wholesome as a whole, and it took me a while to realize that one or two little things are not going to hurt! Especially when “both bread and chocolate are good for you.” πŸ™‚

Alright, for the eats. For lunch I had the rest of my makeshift grilled cheese sandwich last night, and a sweet potato that I zapped in the microwave for a few minutes. I enjoyed this meal while reading Eating Well (which I was not that impressed with, unfortunately).

IMG_0083

I was good to go and then I started thinking about my Luna bar in my desk. Once this happened, I could not get it out of my head. I needed workout fuel, right? So I devoured it.

chocolate peppermint stick (not nearly as good as white chocolate macadamia)

chocolate peppermint stick (not nearly as good as white chocolate macadamia)

Workout was good. Ran 5.1 miles in about 44 minutes. It included intervals of speed and hills. I find workouts like this go by super fast because of the constant intervals.

Now I am home and enjoyed this amazing dinner.

chicken sausage, mustard and grilled veggie wrap with a cucumber, zucchini, strawberry balsamic salad

chicken sausage, mustard and grilled veggie wrap with a cucumber, zucchini, strawberry balsamic salad

Used my new panini press again! So much fun. I love that thing.

Now I am noshing on an apple before going to bed! But before, I will have a piece of yummy dark chocolate (antioxidants, right)?

One thought on “French Women Don’t Get Fat?

  1. danica says:

    Hi Sarah ~ Thanks reading my site and stopping by to let me know about yours.

    Great book review – it’s really insightful. I think that really the key is to become more mindful about what you eat and to fit things in moderation. Life is too short to completely go without or feel guilty for the occassional indulgence.

    I LOVE Eating Well mag too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

