Breakfast: The Most Important Meal of the Day

“Never work before breakfast; if you have to work before breakfast, eat your breakfast first.”
Josh Billings

I found this email in my inbox this morning from Real Simple. Everyday I get a “daily thought” email from them, and this one hit home. I mean I think we all know that our mother’s, doctors, teachers, whoever else, were all right when they said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. If you don’t eat your metabolism stays pretty static and eventually throughout the day you are more likely to reach for evil processed foods because you never gave your body proper fuel to jump-start the day. I believe firmly in this quote that breakfast should take precedence in the morning. Now, I know that this is not always possible, but I try and sit down most days of the week and enjoy my breakfast before doing any “work.” It is my time to gear up for the day and savor my favorite meal.

For me, breakfast used to be non-existent. In high school I would wake up as late as possible, go to school and get a Dr. Pepper and chocolate chip cookie before first period. No. Joke. And if it wasn’t a cookie it was a doughnut. I cringe thinking about how I used to eat for most of my life, and all of the processed food, trans fat and gobs of sugar I used to put in my body. I never really liked “breakfast foods” so I would eat other things instead, if anything at all.

I began to eat a well balanced breakfast a little over a year ago (shocker, I know). And now I cannot even begin to imagine not having good, nutritious, fiber-ific food in my stomach before going about my day.

Kind of like this morning. Enter pumpkin banana oats:

IMG_0841

  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • Half of a banana
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 tsp. Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter
  • 2 tbsp. canned pumpkin
  • Cinnamon

The banana was a nice change to my usual completely pumpkin oats. I ate this and made myself a nice iced coffee to go. It was a great feeling to walk out the door and for it to be daylight! I love daylight savings time! Maybe it means I can squeeze in a run before work (lets be realistic, probably will never happen).

I had quite the leisurly morning catching up on some blogs, browsing facebook and getting some easy-peasy work done at work. I broke into my notorious Sarah morning snack around 10:30.

IMG_0843

Trader Joe’s 0% Fat Greek Yogurt with peanut butter puffins and kashi go lean.

Nice little puffin right there, seconds from being devoured and finding a new home in my stomach.

Lunchtime came, and so did ridiculously warm weather. I got my fair share of Vitamin-D while I sat outside and read and ate my lunch.

Last night’s left-over salad and a serving of diced fruit. This salad is BOMB. Except I forgot to pack the baked blue tortilla chips, so I was desperately missing them in this harmonious mixture. Next time (dinner, perhaps)?

IMG_0844

IMG_0845

I came back from lunch feeling stuffed. Well that didn’t last long. I broke into my temptaion trail mix. They really hit the nail on the head with that name.

IMG_0846

And shortly after I was hangry yet again. What is up with me? So I nibbled devoured this Spooky S’mores Z Bar. I think one of these days I will cave in a buy a box from Whole Foods instead of picking one or two up everytime I’m there.

IMG_0847

It got a little smooshed in my purse. Still tasted dee-licious.

After I ate this I began to feel extremely tired. Both physically and mentally. And then I started to feel like my throat was hurting. Uh oh. And then I got really cold. Although I’m pretty sure it was just me being a hypochondriac. Either way I am going to take it easy tonight and go to bed at a decent hour. I was hungry when I got home so I made a cheesy pasta dish with randoms in the freezer.

  • peas
  • corn
  • carrots
  • brocolli
  • cauliflower
  • green beans
  • laughing cow cheese
  • few tablespoons of greek yogurt
  • reduced fat shredded cheese

IMG_0848

IMG_0849

I am off to catch some shut-eye, but before I go please check out Danica’s Nature’s Path giveaway! Seriously this is a great giveaway. I am crossing my fingers that I win!!

-Sarah ♥

One thought on “Breakfast: The Most Important Meal of the Day

  1. danica says:

    I seriously couldn’t agree more – I HAVE to have breakfast pretty close to when I get up or I am not a happy person 🙂

    Thanks for the contest shoutout – good luck!

    Danica

Leave a Reply

