Fabulous Friday

Happy Fridayyyyyy!!!!! I have impatiently been waiting for Friday since last Friday. It’s about darn time.

So I am going to make a (small) effort to mix up my eats because I have begun to realize that they are all just variations of one thing or another. i.e. oatmeal and greek yogurt. So in attempts to do this I created something new for breakfast. Well, new in the oatmeal world πŸ˜‰

I hereby give you….Apple Cinnamon Oats

IMG_0899

I started by chopping up a honeycrisp apple.

IMG_0896

Then I added about 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and 1/4 cup of water in a pan and brought this to a boil.

IMG_0897

At this point I added about 1/3 cups of oats, and gave it a stir.

While this cooked I continuously stirred and towards the end of the cooking process (all of which took about 5 minutes) I dumped the apple into the pot along with heaps of cinnamon.

IMG_0898

Gave it a few more stirs and then sprinkled a pinch or two of brown sugar in that mix.

By this point it was at my desired consistency, so I removed it from the heat and plopped it into a bowl.

Last but most definitely not least, I stuck a spoonful of almond butter in for good measure.

IMG_0900

Di-vine. Although, it actually was not sweet enough for me. I think next time I will add some honey or agave.

As yummy as this was, this did not fill me up as well as my usual pumpkin oats do. Perhaps because I did not use any pumpkin in this whatsoever! So by the time 10 AM rolled around I was starvin’!

Enter slight alteration #2 of the day.

IMG_0903

Greek yogurt with mixed fruit!

Not quite as good as my starchy peanut butter puffins and savory trail mix, but it was a nice change.

Oh, and I may or may not have had a few unpictured pretzels in between πŸ˜‰

I did my thing at work for a while, made some things happen, and then I saw this video posted on twitter.

As a former soccer player this is honestly one of the most shocking things I have ever seen! This really threw me for a loop. I cannot believe any athlete in general would act like this. I also cannot believe that the referee only gave the player a yellow card!!! For those of you who may not know the rules of soccer, a yellow card is basically a little warning, and you can receive one for many things, but it mostly falls under harmless foul play. This girl deserved a red card or two thrown at her face! Red cards basically eject you from the game, and can provide further consequences as a result. So not only was the New Mexico player extremely unsportsmanlike, but the referee did nothing to help either.

Lunch rolled around and I was unable to sit outside and bask in the beautiful San Franciscan sun. It was a cloudy, rainy mess, and I was forced to sit inside. I had the very last of my salad that I’ve managed to make 4 meals from–go meeee!!

IMG_0904

Frugalista of the year award. Unfortunately this did not fill me up, so about an hour after lunch I snacked on this beautiful Fuji apple.

IMG_0905

This also did not fill me up…. dear appetite, can we work out some consistent agreement, please? So I broke into my favorite Z Bar (although I’ve really only tasted two different kinds so I guess that is really not fair to say).

IMG_0906

Spooky S’mores. Sorry, as I did not so much deviate from the norm with this snack. I am quite the boring eater!! Just stay tuned for a trial run on how to make FABULOUS low calorie and lowΒ fat pizzas!! Obviously to be eaten with copious amounts of champagne, as it is Champagne Friday. What I don’t eat in calories from the pizza I more than make up in calories from champagne. πŸ™‚

Oh, and here is my outfit for the day!

IMG_0901

  • Shirt: Forever 21
  • Cords: J Crew
  • Sweater: Splendid (Nordy’s rack)
  • Boots: Target
  • Belt: J Crew
  • Scarf: Abercrombie (about 4 years ago, still one of my FAVORITE scarves)

So tomorrow I am set out to run 9 miles. My furthest distance yet. I really hope I can pull it off. I know I can, but it’s just a mental thing….thinking about 9 miles is kind of daunting, but if I ever want to run a marathon or even a half marathon, I gotta get used to these long distances. So needless to say I did not have as much champagne as I usually do, and I have been fueling on abnormal amounts of water today (bathroom runs every hour). So hopefully the two will balance each other out πŸ™‚

Anyway….so I was super excited to leave work and get on my train to go home! Well about halfway through the train ride the conductor came on the intercom and announced that a train traveling in the other direction had hit and killed Β a person, so we would be delayed for an unknown amount of time. While this was tragic (and actually happens more frequently than one would hope), I was trying to figure out what to do. I gave Eric a call and he (un)willing came to pick me up a few train stops away!

While I was waiting for Eric I noticed this amazing smell coming from the Melting Pot right across the street.

IMG_0908

(sorry for the lack of light in this pic)!

While I was freezing my behind off, families and couples we enjoying a nice meal at the Melting Pot. So maybe I was a tad jealous.

IMG_0909

My train that remained stationary for quite some time.

Eric finally made his way to me and we headed to Whole Foods. Unfortunately they did not have my coveted Stonyfield Pumpkin Pie yogurt that I have yet to try, but there was a fat free lemon flavor! I have never seen a lemon flavored Stonyfield yogurt, so I had to buy it.

IMG_0911

We eventually made our way back to the apartment and began making our fabulous pizzas!

IMG_0910

(and champagne made a cameo as well. Heck, it was the main star).

So these “pizzas” Β begin with a La Tortilla Factory high fiber “crust.”

IMG_0913

These tortillas are awesome and come in a medium (50 calories) and large (90 calories) size. They don’t taste like a whole lot by themselves, but when you pair them with awesome ingredients, they are to diiiieee for.

So we carmelized some onions and in the meantime I chopped up some pears.

IMG_0914

IMG_0915

Eric prepped the pizzas by covering them with a Laughing Cow Light Swiss cheese.

IMG_0912

He then added the onions, pears, a special goat cheese, and topped of with Whole Foods Robusto cheese (BTW if you like cheese, please do yourself a favor and try this….it’s one of the best cheeses I’ve ever had).

We popped these into the oven for about 10 minutes, with about 2 minutes on broil (at the end).

IMG_0919

(yes we made 4 pizzas. They are low calorie, remember)?

Meanwhile, I was busy making my cheetahs! I honestly could eat these for every meal. Kind of like greek yogurt πŸ™‚

IMG_0918

IMG_0922

IMG_0923

I actually only ate about 4 pieces, and all of those cheetahs. After eating this I was stuffed, but I was happy because I was wearing Christmas PJ’s and drinking champagne!!

IMG_0921

Dessert consisted of slow churned pumpkin ice cream topped with pumpkin granola and trail mix. MMMMMM. Hit the spot.

IMG_0924

Alright beauties, I am about to fall asleep as I type this, and I really would like to make it to my bed (not the couch), so I am going to call it a night so I can prep for my 9 miler in the morning!

I’ll recap it in the AM!

Stay tuned….

2 thoughts on “Fabulous Friday

Leave a Reply

