Balsamic Goat Cheese Heirloom Tomato Chicken Pasta

As promised here is my recipe and guide to make this yummy pasta dish! This dish was actually somewhat inspired by my friend Carly. A while back I saw on her Twitter that she made some artichoke sun-dried tomato goat cheese pasta. Now I didn’t have artichokes or sun-dried tomatoes, but I improvised. It was a real treat (and soon to be my lunch)!

  • 2 servings of pasta (I eyeballed it. I unfortunately do not have a food scale to know the ounces)
  • 1 chicken breast
  • Handful of mini heirloom tomatoes (grape or cherry will do just fine)
  • Garlic
  • Couple of handfuls of spinach
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Splash of red wine (to deglaze the pan)
  • Thyme (I used dried, I’m sure fresh would be better)
  • Goat cheese (I used an herbed goat cheese which was fantastic)

I first started by cooking the chicken (covered in thyme) in some garlic infused olive oil until it was fully cooked. About 6 minutes on each side.

IMG_0969

Meanwhile, I cooked up my pasta.

I then removed the chicken and poured in some red wine. Just enough to deglaze the pan. Then I added some balsamic vinegar to the pan, but noticed it dried out the pan, so some more red wine was added.

IMG_0970

Next, I threw in the mini heirloom tomatoes and let them simmer for a few minutes. Then I added in the chicken (which I cut into bite-sized pieces), cooked pasta and some reserved pasta water.

IMG_0971

I let this kind of do its thing over medium low heat. My goal was to get the tomatoes to burst on their own, but they really weren’t cooperating :). So I ended up crushing them with the back of my spatula.

I then added a couple of handfuls of spinach. Do not be alarmed if it seems as though there is an overload of spinach. When spinach cooks it shrinks and wilts down in size. So the more the better ;).

IMG_0972IMG_0973

 

 

 

After the spinach cooked down I added some crumbled goat cheese and a little more reserved pasta water and gave it a stir. I kept it over medium low heat to cook through and then I served it up!

IMG_0974

Quick little post here as later on I am going to tackle some fashion!

Breakfast was simple (and so not filling enough).

IMG_0984

English muffin with almond butter and pumpkin butter and greek yogurt with grapes and shredded wheat.

I wanted to get a protein boost to keep me full this morning, but it did not quite work!

My morning snack could not have come fast enough. I had an apple cranberry muffin with a teeny tiny baby clementine! So adorable!

I added some Truvia to the top of my muffin. I have found a new love in my all natural sweetener 🙂

IMG_0988IMG_0986IMG_0987

I also was lucky enough to check out the latest J Crew catalog. Here’s a sneak peek.  See you all tonight!!

IMG_0989

One thought on “Balsamic Goat Cheese Heirloom Tomato Chicken Pasta

Leave a Reply

