Diet Dr. Pepper Indulgence (swoon)

Today is National Carbonated Beverage with Caffeine Day. So I had to pay homage. 😳

IMG_1176

I used to be the ultimate soda drinker. Dr. Pepper was my drink of choice and I’d have probably a can or two a day. Then I made the switch to diet, and still consumed a ton of it but I thought since it was zero calories it was A-OK. Wrong. Now I have a soda I’d say on average 2-3 times a month. I had a SERIOUS addiction and I am now trying to kick the ol’ habit for good! But I saw that today is National Carbonated Beverage with Caffeine Day I knew I had to give in (plus I am bummed about my knee, so this makes it feel better).

But lemme backtrack. Last night was uber super relaxing. I chilled out pretty much like this the entire night.

IMG_1162

Bag of peas and all.

My knee is still not feeling any better. I am slightly worried that maybe it is something more serious than Runner’s Knee. If it does not get better by the time I am home for Thanksgiving (SQUUEEALLSSS), then I will make the trek to Urgent Care. Sigh.

But I did manage to make myself a comfort food dinner.

IMG_1163 IMG_1164

Trader Joe’s roasted red pepper soup with frozen peas, corn, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower. With an Oroweat sandwich thin topped with blue cheese and Mexican cheese. I dipped the bread in the soup. Perfection.

This morning I woke up and my cold/cough was much better.  I no longer feel like all I want to do is curl up on the couch and watch endless amounts of Friends (wait a minute, I will ALWAYS want to do this. Regardless of my state of health). Actually, I want to run. Oh wait, I can’t. Okay I will stop whining. I promise.

Breakfast this morning was tres UGLY. I’m so sorry all. I had to eat this on the train.

IMG_1167

Lovely combination of Oroweat sandwich thin, almond butter, pumpkin butter and banana. Yummity yum (I just realized my bananas look moldy. THEY ARE NOT MOLDY I PROMISE. Just had a little too much contact with the wonderful oxygen.

For my snacky I am sticking to the advice of Women’s Health (excuses, excuses) and had some Greek yog. Topped with Kashi Go Lean and trail mix.

IMG_1172 IMG_1173

Yes, I am a freak. A Greek yogurt loving freak.

I had a FABULOUS lunch. But I was getting weird looks when I prepped it. Come on people don’t knock it ‘til you try it!!

IMG_1174 IMG_1175

*laughing cow light swiss cheese and pear sammy with zucchini, carrots and Sabra TJ’s  roasted red pepper hummus*

This sandwich was SO good. I love pears and cheese. They were made for one another.

For my afternoon snacky pie I had a Fiberful from TJ’s. Love these. And an apple. Looks like someone was a bit hannnggrryy.

IMG_1178 IMG_1179

Okay, enough of the eats.

Here’s a pretty picture for you all. I walk through this park every day to and from work. It is so peaceful and serene, and I thought it deserved a photograph!

IMG_1168

And here is this little cafe on the edge of the park. I have yet to go here, but it looks like it’s straight out of Europe, honestly!

I took it easy tonight. Eric and I decorated our mini xmas tree. Let me just say I really should be hired to make ornament hooks out of bobby pins. I am the master. Gimme some bobby pins and pliers. I will give you the most stellar ornament hooks you have ever seen.

Of course we had to add the wine barrel ornament that I got as a gift last Christmas from Eric’s mom.

Ain’t it a beauty?

Well I am off to help Eric pack up his things for his trip! And then I’m gonna get my butt in bed and get some rest!

See you all tomorrow…Happy Early Friday!!!

Leave a comment