Chai Spice Biscotti with Cinnamon Glaze

Hey bloggies 🙂

So the other night I decided to make this Chai Spice Biscotti recipe I found on Cooking Light’s website archive. Eric is going on a trip for Thanksgiving and I wanted to give him something to munch on while he was vacationing! Whenever we travel together we ALWAYS get a biscotti and eat it on the plane with our coffee. It’s been a tradition and I’ve photographed every single one.

On the way to Hawaii this summer.

On the way to St. Louis for a wedding this past July.

So I knew I had to make these while he was out at a basketball game with his dad. Here are the ingredients (and what I modified is in parenthesis).

Chai Spice Biscotti (adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4  cups  all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1  cup  sugar (I used 1/2 cup)
  • 1  tablespoon  loose Chai spice tea or orange spice tea (about 3 tea bags)
  • 2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  ground ginger (I did not have any so I omitted)
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  ground allspice (I used pumpkin pie spice instead)
  • 1  tablespoon  vegetable oil (I used 3 tbsp. of applesauce instead)
  • 1  tablespoon  triple sec (orange-flavored liqueur) or orange juice (I ended up using probably 3 tbsp. of OJ)
  • 3  large eggs (I used 2 egg whites and 1 egg)
  • Cooking spray

I started with all of my dry ingredients and mixed them into a large bowl. I just noticed the bag of flour says “Baker Josef’s” haha. Love it.

IMG_1156

I then added all of my wet ingredients in a separate, smaller bowl and mixed these together.

IMG_1157

I then added the wet to the dry and began to stir. (They were not kidding around when they said this mixture would be dry and crumbly).

IMG_1159

I then shaped them into logs. This was very hard. It was too crumbly so I added more wetness in the form of OJ and applesauce. Eventually I formed eight “logs” that kind of reminded me of …yeah I’m not even going to go there. I put these on a greased cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 30 minutes.

IMG_1160

After 3o minutes I removed the “logs” and let them cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes.

Then I sliced them diagonally (which I found quite near impossible, so I ended up just slicing them in half, long ways…or “hotdog style”) and put them back on the cookie sheet cut side down and baked at a reduced temperature of 325 for 10 minutes.

IMG_1165

I removed them and flipped them over and baked for another 10 minutes at 325.

I removed them for the last time and let the biscotti fully cool on a wire rack.

At the last minute I created a cinnamon glaze to give the biscotti more flavor.

I combined powdered sugar, almond milk, and cinnamon. I’m not sure of my portions I just eyeballed it and added more milk or sugar until I reached a desired “glaze” consistency and drizzled it over the still hot biscotti.

IMG_1166 Fabuloso!! Oh, and Eric LOVED them btw. I was pleased with them, but they did not live up to the crazy expectations I had for them. I think next time I won’t add as much wet ingredients because the biscotti were not as crunchy as I would have liked. But the boy likes them, and that’s who they are for!

So for breakkie this morning I busted open my new coffee I got from Target last week. Pumpkin. Pie. Spice. (pretty much has my name written allllll over it).

IMG_1185

I enjoyed this in my new Anne Taintor mug I bought at Sur la Table last week when Eric and I did our cooking class.

IMG_1186

Mildly inappropriate, no?

I munched on a small (this is small for me) breakfast because at work we were having a “Cereal Festivus.” See, we typically have “Bagel Friday” the last Friday of every month. Since next Friday the office will be closed because of Thanksgiving, we  decided to have this “Cereal Festivus” in lieu of bagel Friday. Fine by me! I like cereal better anyway!!!

IMG_1187

*toatsed whole wheat bread with Better N’ Peanut Butter and half a banana*

Cereal Festivus

13640_342764510369_615150369_9820931_5250459_n

I was in cereal heaven. Enter breakfast number 2. I had a mix of (lets see if I can remember) Cheerios, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Kashi Go Lean Crunch, and Special K Vanilla Almond. I sliced a banana on top for good measure.

IMG_1188

This looks like an ordinary mug of coffee or tea, no?

IMG_1189

Think again…. I am such a loser and brought my own stash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk to eat with my cereal. I just LOVE this milk. Someone looked at me funny because I was pouring my own milk while simultaneously taking a picture of it. Hmm, can’t blame them really.

IMG_1190

 

 

 

 

Oh it was yummy. A treat indeed.

For lunch I was pretty lazy and did not muster up any energy last night to make anything. So I resorted to what I know (and love) best. Greek yogurt. SORRY!!!!! It’s currently my comfort food and is getting me through this cough/cold and stupid knee injury. I mixed some canned pumpkin in this time. It gave it a nice flavor with added nutrients!

IMG_1191

*topped with kashi go lean, shredded oats, trail mix, nature’s path pumpkin flax plus granola*

Oh fine, I had an iced coffee as well. Even though it is like 51 degrees and raining. I got lots of weird looks. Seems to be the theme of the day.

IMG_1192 And then around 4 PM I had a v. messy VitaMuffin. Oh but it was so good. I just needed the chocolate.

IMG_1193 Look closely and you can see full blown chocolate chips. I love it when muffins/brownies/cookies have full chunks of chocolate.

So I opted to take the bus to the train station today to eliminate any more walking I had to do to baby my knee. I have yet to take the bus here in the city. I know, crazy, but I just like to walk!! It was very interesting indeed. I was afraid I was going to get on the wrong bus, or they would miss my stop, and I would never get home to my couch, pillows, blankets and DVR. Wahhh.

But it was actually very easy. Found the bus stop. The bus came. I got on. I got off a few minutes later. Easy peasy. I am such a suburban girl at heart, I cannot help it.

I came back and hobbled on over to Whole Foods. I walked hobbled around and tasted some stuffing that they are using for their holiday catering or ordering or whatever. OMG it was phenomenal. So moist and perfect. And probably chocked full of fat and calories. Oh well, so worth it.

I ended up walking out with a thing of strawberries, Wasa crackers and a bottle of champagne. Random, I know.

So I enjoyed this as an appetizer.

*wasa crackers, herbed goat cheese, robusto cheese, cheddar cheese* (x3)

And for dinner I am munching on some veggies with mustard and BBQ sauce. Also random, but exactly what I am craving. And I am planning on having a date with pumpkin ice cream as well. I’m just sayin’. 🙂

Well I am off to catch up on GG, 90210, Melrose, Desperate Housewives, and I really am craving The Holiday, so I better get moving!

Tata for now!

One thought on “Chai Spice Biscotti with Cinnamon Glaze

Leave a Reply

