Quickie Post!!!!

Okay all SUPER quick post here! I am running around like crazy! Somehow I thought I had a ton of time to get my behind together, but now its the night before I leave and I have done nothing! First of all, how cute is this dress? I’m loving what Lauren Conrad is doing with this nude look. I always feel nude is very hard to pull off, especially being white as a ghost in the dead of winter, but I strive to pull it off like LC (yes I was an AVID, DEDICATED Laguna Beach watcher/lover/obsessor).

She always has TOTAL class when she dresses. I love her fashion sense!

Breakfast:

2 Van’s multigrain waffles, almond butter, pumpkin butter and “caramelized” bananas. Note: I attempted to caraamelize a sliced banana in a pan but I did not have enough time this morning, so it ended up just being hot bananas, but yummy nonetheless.

Snack:

Starbucks iced coffee, greek yogurt with strawberries and kashi go lean

Lunch:

Crap frozen meal from Trader Joe’s. Filet of sole over spinach with white beans. It was not very good at all. Or filling for that matter. I immediately had an unpictured Fiberful fruit bar.

Snack: Unpictured zucchini and mustard (you are not missing anything I swear).

Dinner has yet to be eaten (crap), BUT I will share with you the AMAZING cookie recipe that I used last night!

Double Chocolate Chip Mint Cookies (adapted from Real Simple)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature (I used Bummel and Brown spread because it was all I had)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I used probably about 2 tsp. or more)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat to the max)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Nestle for the record)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk-chocolate chips (I used this bag of Nestle Dark Chocolate and Mint Morsels)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Cream the butter and sugars in a large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed. Lower to medium speed and add the egg and vanilla. Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. On low speed, add the dry mixture to the butter mixture. Beat until fully incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  2. Form the dough into approximately 1 1/2-inch balls. Place on parchment- or foil-lined baking sheets, 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake until the centers are just set, about 12 minutes. Let cool on sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire racks.

I was worried the cookies would not turn out because I used crap spreadable butter and whole wheat flour, but I thought they came out PERFECTLY. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but these are BETTER than Thin Mints. And I love me some Thin Mints. Go ahead and make some!!! I am bringing these home for my friends and family!

Alright guys and gals, I gotta get my act together!!! I hope you all are enjoying work and school off–although I have a half day tomorrow. I will seeeing/blogging you from LA!

xoxo

One thought on “Quickie Post!!!!

  1. drea says:

    yay! you are coming home toooodaaaay! ..this may sound familiar seeing as i just said the same thing to you..but im excited!

    cookies. dont forget the cookies. =P

    ❤ drea

Leave a Reply

