Twice Baked Acorn Squash

Alright ya’ll, so it seems I have migrated my posts to the afternoons instead of the evenings. Except for this one because my camera cord is now at home. I’ve come to the terms that it just doesn’t like me and wants to stay as far away from me as possible *I wouldn’t touch you with aaa…..39 and a half foot pppoooooolllllee* (Grinch, anyone)?

Anyway this is going to be super random because I have a lot of random things on my mind. Starting with last night’s din din. I was not terribly hungry after I came home from the gym (more on this in a sec), so I came home and cuddled on the couch with Eric while he fed me zucchini, cucumbers and crackers with cheese. I love him.

Eventually I made some veggie hodge podge and toasted a Wasa cracker topped with sliced pear and blue cheese. Note to self: keep an eye on the cracker when it’s in the broiler or it will catch on fire. 🙂

So, my work out. I ended up completing 2.25 miles in 30 minutes. A mix of walking and jogging, but mostly walking. I ran every so often, for a minute or so, but cut it back when I felt some pain and discomfort. I upped the incline when I walked, so I still worked up a sweat. I then did some weight in the form of shoulder press/crunch on the stability ball, bicep hammer curls, push ups and planks. It felt pretty darn good I tell you (and I’m sore today)!!!!

After dinner there may or may not have been an “airplane” or two of pumpkin ice cream from the freezer (thanks to Eric and a glorious little spoon).

Woke up this mornin’ and was craving bananas like MAD! So bananas I had.

toasted english muffin with almond butter, pumpkin butter, banana and grapes

Just FYI these are the products I typically use.

Although I am just about out of the maranatha almond butter. I smell oats in a jar coming on! BTW I am an oats in a jar virgin!!! It will be epic I tell you!

So I got some feedback from my friend Catrina about snack options. I kept reading down her list and was so inspired by each item! I think I am just the ultimate creature of habit, and I know what I like, but I want to try and branch out! I think I am going to invest in some string cheese and soy nuts, among many other little snackies 🙂 Thanks Catrina!

But alas, this did not happen today, nor will it happen the rest of the week because I am trying to stay out of the grocery store and save my paycheck!!

Greek yogurt in a new light (on a spoon).

For lunch I had a salad. We got it delivered and I asked for dressing on the side because usually people who are in control of dressing just DOUSE the salad like “would you like some salad with your dressing?” But sadly, my salad came WITH dressing on it. Boo. Look how good it looks too….

oragnic mixed greens with strawberries, grapes, almonds, goat cheese and balsamic vinegarettte

I ate about half. I ate all the strawbs and grapes though, obvi. It was actually really good, but way too dressing-y for me.

So I know Janetha keeps talking about drinking a gallon of water a day. I know I drink a ton of water (well not literally a ton, and I guess that’s a measurement of weight, not liquid amounts..ANYWAY) but I want to try and know exactly how much. So I’ve been using this guy lately.

I love my little pink camelbak.

She is 16 oz. So far today I have had 11 of these. This is 176 ounces or 1.375 gallons! Sweet! And I will most likely have one more before bed time.

For my snacky-poo I had a cute litte cutie (I love how it says “root for the cute” on the sticker), and a mini Kombucha.

I totally bought one of these on Thanksgiving when my sister and I went to Whole Paycheck Foods and had her try some. She did not really like it, but then as we were driving home I told her that “this product may contain trace amounts of alcohol” and she then proceeded to tell my mother that I fed her alcohol while driving. Ha. That little stink. 🙂

Alright, random moment #543629743. I have decided I am loving long sleeved mini dresses. I wore one today in fact (totally work appropriate I swear)!

French Connection Sequin Shoulder Fitted Dress $220

And some celeb who’s been sporting it a lot recently: Blake Lively. LOVE HER.

personally, not a huge fan of the puffy shoulders, but it totally works on her.

and technically this dress has one long sleeve, but still. loving it. oh and it’s alexander wang. totally unattainable.

I think they are super hot if paired with the right things. They are not too revealing , but if they hug you just the right way, it leaves a lot to the imagination! I am keeping an eye out for a dressier one for the holidays (I totally want Blake’s purple one armed frock)!

So for dinner I decided to finally use the acorn squash I got at Trader Joe’s millions of years ago. I became inspired to make a Twice-Baked Acorn Squash after doing some research on the good ol’ world wide web.

Sarah’s Twice Baked Acorn Squash

  • 1 acorn squash, cut in half
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • Big ol’ handful of spinach
  • 1 laughing cow light swiss cheese wedge
  • dollop of greek yogurt (for protein)
  • black and kidney beans (or any you have on hand…or none at all)
  • season to taste (garlic, 21 seasoning salute, etc.)
  • blue cheese crumbles on top

Directions:

  1. Cut open squash and scoop out the seeds. Place upside down on greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 50-55 minutes.
  2. Remove squash and scoop out the innards.
  3. Mix the squash innards with all of the ingredients listed above and scoop back into the squash halves.
  4. Top with some cheese (or breadcrumbs, or both) of your liking and bake for an additional 25-30 minutes at 350

TADA! Fab-oosh!

I actually quite enjoyed this, and it was super filling! Since my crazy boyfriend eats cereal for dinner, I will save the other half of the squash for lunch tomorrow!

So for dessert we had our daily vitamins. Lindt’s dark chocolate with sea salt. Honestly, the best chocolate that has ever passed through my lips. Go on and try it. Unfortunately I decided to step out of my comfort zone and try the 90% dark chocolate bar last night. It smelled heavenly and I was so excited to taste it. I took a bite and tasted….nothing. Seriously it had NO flavor or taste whatsoever. Eric hated it as well. I was so disappointed because I really had high hopes for that bar. Teaches me to not deviate!! So we will see how deviating from greek yogurt messes will go. 🙂

Anyway, I will leave you all with a thought.  I was reading Stephen King’s Under the Dome (really freaky weird, but good BTW), and I came across this phrase…

“six of one, half dozen of another”

What on earth does this mean? Can any one tell me? I’ve heard this before, but never knew what it meant!!

3 thoughts on “Twice Baked Acorn Squash

  1. Carly says:

    well, I think, and I’m not certain, that its a phrase kind of implying “tomato tomahto”… 6 IS a half-dozen. I’m not sure how to use it correctly other than like the aforementioned synonym. Ehh… whatev!!

    Ps. I must try the squaaaash.

    Pss. Holy crap you’re drinking a lot of water!

  2. snackface says:

    OMG I’m in love with Lively. I just want her wardrobe! We kinda look alike already, so now we need to share clothes. Except, it won’t be sharing as I’m sure she will not enjoy my wardrobe, lol. You look fab! And now I want 10 squashes.

Leave a Reply

