Steel Cut Oat Revelation

Today is the day for BlogHer Holiday Party in SF!!! I am sooooo excited! I am going to make a quick post, and then do a recap tomorrow morning!

First off, lemme just quickly tell you how much I enjoyed my breakfast. So the other day I bought new oatmeal from TJ’s, but I didn’t realize it was steel cut (which takes more time to prepare). So last night I did some research and decided to attempt my first batch of overnight oats. This was a very simple, boring version, and I will attempt to get creative now that I know I like steel cut oats!

Basically, last night I took 1 cup of water and brought it to a boil. I added 1/4 cup of steel cut oats and put a lid on that badboy and let it sit overnight on the stove. I was skeptical at this point, but I thought, “what the heck.” So this morning I come out of bed, super anxious to see what had happened overnight. I was pleasantly surprised to see the oats completely absorbed by the water!! I guess any smart person would know this was bound to happen, but I had my doubts.

I then turned the stove back on and added some canned pumpkin and cinnamon until it got nice and hot.

I scooped it into a bowl and topped it with a scoop of almond butter and pumpkin butter. Then sprinkled with a little trail mix for PERFECTION!

IMG_1379

mmmm so delicious. I actually really like steel cut oats. They are a little grittier than regular old fashioned oats, but my tastes buds were in heaven.

I dashed out the door, coffee mug in hand. I really need to get myself a travel mug. Today I just brought a regular ol’ cup of coffee with me in the car. I would love one to take on the train and to work, etc. Santa’s coming soon, right?? 🙂

I plugged away at work for a while, and had an unpictured greek yogurt mess snack, but I was really anticipating LUNCH. I just couldn’t wait to eat the other half of my beautiful baby twice baked acorn squash!! It was still super tasty this time around after a nuke in the microwave. If I had an oven here at work I would have popped it back in there for half an hour or so, but I made due with what I had.

IMG_1382

IMG_1383

Clearly it was awwwwfffulll.

 IMG_1384

So awful in fact, that I had to tear it apart to get all of the innards.

Ew.

Right after this I was given a bag of chips. Dangit. I can’t turn down chips. I just can’t. So I had about half of this bag.

IMG_1385 Now I am not hungry, but I still want to eat! GAHHHH!!! So instead I am eating Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Nibs.

IMG_1386 Basically these are the exact same thing as Sweet Riot’s Dark Chocolate Cacao Nibs, but probably $1.50 cheaper! These are SO good and only have 1 calorie per nib! Keep in mind when they say “nib” they don’t mess around. Each one is TINY. I usually have like 10.

So before I head out for the day I want to show you all my outfit for today!

IMG_1381

  • Dress: Banana Republic silk dress on SUPER sale that my mom got me for an early Christmas present (love you mommy)!
  • Necklace: Forever 21
  • Bracelet: Banana
  • Tights: who the heck knows
  • Boots: Cathy Jean

Today is one of those days that I am feeling pretty darn confident, so I am happy. 🙂 All the more ready to go to BlogHer Holiday Party!!!

Peace out ladies and gents!

2 thoughts on “Steel Cut Oat Revelation

Leave a Reply

