Christmas Spirit!

Christmas is my FAVORITE time of year. Hands down. The entire few months leading up to Christmas are equally exciting. Unfortunately this year I have not been as amped for Christmas! I think it had a lot to do with recent homesickness, my knee escapades, Eric being gone for a week, and a couple of other things. Well today I finally came into the Christmas spirit. πŸ™‚

This morning is when it happened. I woke up at Eric’s moms house to a freezing house, but a nice warm, cozy bed. It was dreary and cloudy outside, but the leaves on the trees were golden red and yellow. I went downstairs to enjoy a nice warm cup of coffee and noticed some candles were lit among all of the amazing Christmas decorations his mom has at her house. It started to come on. That feeling. That I love and impatiently wait for each year. Then, they brought the Christmas tree inside. I finally went over the edge. We sat in the living room chatting about Christmas and this amazingly perfect, fragrant tree right in our midst. I am officially GA GA for Christmas!

But now let me rewind to Friday night. I mentioned that Eric and I were going to go to Whole Foods for a wine tasting. Well we went to Whole Foods, but there was no wine tasting!!! False advertisement. Not cool. But we walked around and indulged in the millions of free clementines they were giving away, along with some fabulous cheeses. We left with a “Brrr” beer to try!

I did not really like this beer. It was WAY too intense for me. It was more along the lines of a porter or a stout. I actually am not a huge fan of beer all together, unless it’s some fab German beer (BTW I am trying to imitate being really cold in this picture. It didn’t work very well).

We then opened up a new bottle of bubbly to celebrate my recent promotion and Eric’s interview success!

Appropriately enjoyed in my Christmas wine glass! This Barefoot Rose Cuvee is so good. If you are a champagne/sparkling wine fan, you will LOVE this. It’s super bubbly and sweet! Oh, and it’s a steal. I think we got this for about $7. Score.

We munched on some cheese and crackers and veggies before dinner. I love these times with Eric. When we are both in the kitchen preparing meals, sipping wine (or champagne) and chatting about life. Some of my favorite times indeed. The cheese we ate was a rich, creamy goat cheese from Whole Foods. I currently forget the name but it was incredible!

especially when paired with Stonewall Kitchen’s raspberry peach champagne jam!

For diner we made some “healthy” pizzas! We used some high fiber, low calorie tortillas for the crust and topped them with the goat cheese, a tiny bit of blue cheese, laughing cow cheese, caramelized onions and garlic and sliced apples and pears with a drizzle of honey! Wow. What a mouthful. We had some sweet potato fries on the side.

After a fun evening of eating, drinking and watching the latest episode of Top Chef (GO KEVIN!), we finally went to sleep. I woke up in the morning all set to try the gym! I fueled on a rice cake with peanut butter, pumpkin butter and trail mix.

I had a very nice time at the gym! I ended up running/walking 4.5 miles!!! There were times when I ran .5 miles at a time, and then walked for about 30-60 seconds. My knee hurt a little bit from time to time, but I felt that it almost began to hurt less the further into my workout! I also did lots of arm and upper body weights and rounded out with some planks on the stability ball. Those are so killer!

I came home and had my real breakfast. Green monster style.

In this mix: spinach, almond milk, better n’ peanut butter, chocolate protein powder, and half a frozen banana. All topped off with pumpkin flax granola! MMMM…. somehow drinking it out of a wine glass makes it all the better.

Eric and I spent Saturday running errands and headed to the mall ever so briefly. Here were our eats while we were out.

(an unpictured tiny FREE cappuccino from William’s Sonoma. I love samples).

*cinnamon, pumpkin spice apple*

*clementine*

*apple cranberry muffin and a small americano*

*FREE pumpkin gingerbread cookie from Whole Foods*

When we were finished we went over to Eric’s mom’s house for dinner!! Eric the bartender made me a fabulous pomegranate margarita to start of the night!

While I was sippin’ on my drink I was checking out the new issue of Food Network Magazine, and I found the Ultimate Food Lover’s Gift Guide! It was pretty fun to look at all of the fun cooking gadgets. Needless to say I think I’ve added a few things to my Christmas list. πŸ˜‰

After my margarita we of course had to open a bottle of champagne to celebrate my job and Eric’s school and interview successes with his mom. Can’t turn down free glasses of champagne, now can I?

We ate a very holiday inspired veggie plate before feasting on dinner!

Dinner was SO good and so light, yet filling! We ate a salad (not sure what was in it), and crab. I may have had 2 or 3 slices of bread as well. πŸ™‚

For dessert we had pumpkin pie, cool whip and fresh berries. OMG so amazing.

Needless to say, I slept like a baby after that food and multiple drinks. We woke up and had the morning that got me into my Christmas spirit!!! After not wanting to leave the house, we eventually made our way to the gym. I did another run/walk dealio and completed 5.5 miles. I was totally entertained on the treadmill because I was watching the women’s NCAA final soccer championship! 19 time champion North Carolina versus STANFORD!!!! I was so rooting for the Card, but they ended up losing 1-0. It was a really good, intense game and I found myself yelling at the TV while running. Oh how I miss soccer.

I am a horrible blogger and did not really document our day. I was tired and blah and cold and my camera always seemed so far away. It just happens I suppose.

We came home from running errands and the gym for a spontaneous apartment clean!! We spent about an hour or so cleaning the kitchen, bathroom, closets and vacuuming the entire place. It feels so good to have a nice clean apartment!

*nice cleaaaannn kitchen. thanks to eric. πŸ™‚ *

We also put up some more lights and Christmas potpourri that was a gift from Eric’s mom.

We accompanied our potpourri with a Bath and Body Works “Fireside” candle.

Now we are settling down to watch the finale of the Amazing Race and an extremely intense episode of Desperate Housewives!! Β A plane crash on Wisteria Lane!!!

I hope you all had a nice weekend and have had the chance to feel some holiday spirit!

Leave a Reply

