Caramelized Banana Oats

Okay I am so annoyed. I just typed up an entire post on my phone, equipped with pictures and thought I saved it to my online blog. Yeah, well, apparently it did not want to acknowledge my saving requests. Grrr. I will do my best to recap.

So 2 more days until Christmas!!! I seriously am such a little kid. I get so excited on Christmas Eve and I can never sleep, and I always get up at like 6 AM super excited to open presents. I can’t even go and look at the presents over the second story banister until everyone is awake! I am such a sap and kid at heart. I am already getting giddy thinking about it! AHH!!

So breakfast was everything I wanted and more. The food situation has been a bit off lately since Eric and I have been shacking up at his mom’s house for the holidays (and pre-holidays) so I have not had access to my usual food companions. Tear, tear. This morning was fabby fab fab, and made up for all of my food discrepancies.

Caramelized Banana Oats

In the beautiful Christmas bowl:

  • 1/3 c of oats
  • 1/4 c soy milk
  • 1/2 c of water
  • 1/2 banana sliced VERY thin
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract

I mixed the oats, water, milk and banana slices in a bowl and put it in the microwave for 45 seconds. When I took it out I added the cinnamon, vanilla extract Β and smashed the bananas against the side of the bowl with my spoon. I put it back in the microwave for 1 minute and then I savored this nice, warm, bowl of oats. I dubbed this “Caramelized Banana Oats” because for some reason the bananas got SUPER sweet and tasted almost caramelized. I need to recreate this ASAP.

After breakfast I braved the elements (hello frost on my car and the fact that I couldn’t open my passenger side door!!!!) and set off to work. Once I got into the city I was welcomed with crisp, cool beautiful wintry weather! I was in a good mood this morning!

Work was pretty busy per usual but I managed to sneak in some Greek yogurt.

Since there were not very many people in the office today, lunch was catered! It was catered by this southern soul food restaurant called Hard Knox Cafe. It was dangerous, but OH SO GOOD.

I had a little bit of almost everything. Collard greens, mac and cheese (YUM), yams and a corn muffin. This totally hit the spot and I was happy with what I ate. I did not feel guilty or over the top — something I am struggling with during my involuntary cardio hiatus.

The afternoon FLEW by as I was busy busy busy tracking down invoices, work orders and a million other things. But I loved it.

I came home to a fabulous home cooked meal.

Salad with lite balsamic vinaigrette dressing with some whole wheat pasta with meat sauce. Hey, it’s the holidays πŸ™‚

Now I am chillin’ out on the couch watching Home Alone with Eric.

Only 1 more day of work!!!

Leave a Reply

