Christmas Adam and Eve

HALLELUJAH!! A week and a half off of work! I celebrated by sipping on this completely perfect (and festive, no?) margarita courtesy of Eric. He is an engineering student by day and a fantastic mixologist by night. Honestly I tell him if he ever fails out of school he could have a great bartending career!!

So yesterday was Christmas Adam (as dubbed by Eric), because it’s the day before Christmas Eve and somehow he tied Eve to Adam and the story just unravels (don’t ask) and now I call this day Christmas Adam too.

Anyway, so like I said yesterday was my last day at work! I was pretty busy just getting things taken care of before my long awaited hiatus, and my food choices were blah to say the least.

Remember that nasty greek yogurt experience I had the other day? Yeah well I bought two and I had to eat it because I didn’t want it to go to waste.

This time around I only ate about half. It was worse. I will never deviate from the norm again. I always think I learn my lesson, but in all reality, I know what I like.

Lunch came around and before I knew it Dr. McDougall’s Vegan Miso Soup was calling my name.

This was seriously SO SO SO good and beyond easy to preepare. Just add water. There were even little bits of tofu in it as well! The nutriotionals were very impressive considering the fact that it is a packaged food.

I slurped that down pretty quickly. Slurp slurp (I actually hate that evil “slurp” noise. Hands down my biggest pet peeve ever. Whenever Eric does it—which is seldom—I give him the evil eye. And you do not want the evil eye).

I slammed this FRS Energy drink down to keep me going through the day/night.

I knew I was going to be up packing and getting up super early to catch my flight to LA (I hopped off the plane at LAX with a dream and my cardigan….love that song).

Eric’s mom prepared a beautiful pre-X-Mas Eve meal becuase they will are at a friend’s house tonight. Eric’s mom is one of the best cooks. She has made so many dishes and I kid you not-every single one is incredible beyond words. My favorites are her numerous risotto concoctions. This is the lady that got me hooked on risotto 3 years ago. Before then I had never even heard of risotto!!!

Here is what was prepared.

maple dijon glazed roasted asparagus

tomato bread pudding (OMG this was seriously so incredible, sweet and savory)

perfect beef roast

salad with pears, candied macadamia nuts, pomegranate arils and blue cheese with a homemade vinaigrette

I ate until I could not eat any more, and then I ate some more. No really I was beyond bloated by the end of the night. But before we went off to bed presents were given!! Eric’s step dad made us the most BEAUTIFUL piece of woodwork I have ever seen!!!

a wine/liquor cabinet!!!

I am still in awe over this fine work and most thoughtful gift! I cannot wait to display it in our apartment!

I also got this super cute travel mug from Eric’s mom!

A Starbucks Heidelberg travel mug–to be specific! If you ever go anywhere in Germany, you best make your trip to Heidelberg. The most romantic old city in Europe (okay I may be biased, but still).

So we eventually got to bed only to wake up a few hours later to go to the airport. I was NOT feeling well from all of this (plus that margarita)

I actually have felt off all day. Ugh I hate this nasty feeling.

I tried to counteract it with some nice hot oatmeal.

I got the Brown Sugar Crumble Oatmeal from Jamba Juice and it supposedly only clocks in at about 220 calories. Although I find this very hard to believe…it was a hefty serving of oats! I also got a shot of wheatgrass—this was my first ever—and I LOVED IT!!! I immediately felt refreshed and a tiny bit detoxified!

This did the trick and when I landed in LA I was able to tackle the mall and get all of my shopping done 🙂

The day FLEW by. I had ups and downs with my stomach and head and then randomly in the afternoon my left eyelid swelled up for half an hour. I was so totally freaked out and I looked like a weird zombie. I could open my eye but it was only half open. It eventually went away but totally scared me and I still don’t know why it happened!

Around 5 we went to Christmas Eve dinner at Bandits Bar and Grill. We went here last year and now it has become a tradition!

We started with some sweet potato fries! Yum yum!

I then started with a small side salad…which wasn’t very good by the way.

I was eagerly awaiting the man dish. A tri tip sandwich on garlic bread!!!!! I also had a side of steamed veggies and sauteed onions and bell peppers.

We came home and my sister and I made some chocolate chip cookies!

And now my dad prepared a nice warm fire….

and we are about to watch this beauty of a film….

Merry Christmas to all 🙂

Leave a Reply

