It’s the Most Wonderful (Stressful) Time of the Year

I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas! My Christmas started off wonderfully. It ended strangely and I actually did not have a chance to take many pictures because I picked up just about a million other responsibilities. All of which I will get into later.

In the morning I got to spend good quality time with my family as we all sipped some Peet’s Holiday Blend coffee. Before we opened presents we listened to Christmas music while I did my Christmas puzzle!! Which we later used as a giant coaster for our coffee cups! I love multi-use things πŸ™‚

We opened presents and ate a scrumptious breakfast. I was in charge of making the scrambled eggs — as I am every single year!! I had a little bit of everything this morning. The turkey sausage was SO good!!! It had a little bit of maple flavor in it that just complemented the entire breakfast. Instead of having toast I had a Van’s multigrain waffle with almond butter and strawberries.

I also added some spinach to my batch of eggs to get in some greens! Along with breakfast I had this green power juice.

I was scared that this would taste just like grass, but I actually REALLY liked it. I think it contained kale, celery, parsley, romaine and spinach juices. This definitely woke me up and refreshed me after a heavier breakfast.

So we continued to open presents after breakfast. I got the CUTEST most comfy robe. I have barely taken it off since I’ve been home.

(yes that is a leopard print Snuggie you see on the chair–my mom received this as a gift. it’s amazing)

I also got some goodies in my stocking!

Including a shot glass that is a mini measuring cup, and pure maple candy. This is the most incredible stuff and I get it in my stocking ever year.

So after presents and breakfast my mom began to feel icky. She laid down in bed and basically did not get up the entire rest of the day. We think she has a touch of the flu/stress. Once this happened I was in charge of making the ENTIRE Christmas dinner. Β My did did help me prepare the turkey since I was SO nervous that I was going to mess it up. I had to stick my hand in there and remove the giblets and the neck!

After we put the turkey in the oven my dad and I took our cute little doggies for a walk. These are my dogs Jackson (the fat little wiener dog) and Pugsley (the pug).

I came back and got to work. I spent the entire afternoon in the kitchen (still in my workout/walking clothes). Towards the end of my cooking some family drama ensued which stressed me out even more, and basically I just wanted my mom to feel better and things to be well with everyone because I hate coming home to visit when people are unhappy. I took on many roles last night so everyone would have a nice Christmas dinner. I was beyond happy to do it but it was a bit overwhelming. I even at dinner in my workout clothes.

Here is the finished organic free range turkey! I was so happy!

The stuffing I prepared….

My butternut squash gratin with blue cheese and sage (links to my guest post on Danica’s Daily) and rolls–side by side in the oven trying to make sure everything came out on time.

The hardest part about preparing an entire meal is trying to make sure everything is done at the same time. Along with what you see above I also prepared gravy, corn, green beans, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce and I think that is about it!! I struggled with the timing and some of the stuff was not very hot (oops), but everyone was so kind and kept complimenting me. Β I apologize for the lack of pictures but it was just not on my mind!!!

The evening ended well. I was stressed most of the day, but by the end of the day I had wine and chocolate in hand and fell asleep watching Bottleshocked with my dad. πŸ™‚

Today my mom still feels under the weather, so most of today I’ve taken care of her and spent time with her watching the Real Housewives of Orange County. My guilty pleasure. There is a marathon right now…must get back to the trash!!

One thought on “It’s the Most Wonderful (Stressful) Time of the Year

  1. Catrina says:

    Hey Chica! Just catching up on my blogosphere. Looks like you had a fab christmas!

    First off, some BAD news! The Napa-Sonoma half is FULL!!!!!!!!!!! Boo!! You can go on the waiting list…but my Aunt said the man she talked to said it was NOT hopeful. HOPEFULLY the we’ll catch the Wharf-to-Wharf, if you’re interested.

    I’m deciding between two 5ks in Feb…need your advice!

    Choice 1: http://www.ymcasf.org/chinatown/who_we_are/events/53_chinese_new_year_run_year_of_the_tiger

    Choice 2: http://dserunners.com/schedule/2010/ballpark5k.html

    I think I’m leaning toward the Chinatown one…but both sound sweet to me!

    Anyway, happy new year…Santa brought me a Wii fit and new running sneakers…I’m psyched to try it out!

    I hope you and Eric have an absolutely fabulous New Years and I will see you soon! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

