Quinoa Is The New Rice

Guess what?
I actually got my butt up this morning and went to the gym!!!! Oh I wanted nothing more than to stay warm and cozy in my bed, but I knew I would be upset at myself later. What is that saying, when you are contemplating skipping a workout, which you may in fact regret, butΒ  “you will never regret actually having a workout.” True indeed.

I woke up and was skeptical of my knee but I really wanted to run. I set off on the treadmill and walked .15 miles and then picked up the pace. I ended up running 3 miles and walking .25 miles!!! I will be honest, I was a bit winded. That’s the horrible thing about not running in 1.5 months. My endurance is nowhere where it used to be!!! I am so bummed, but I see it as a challenge to work back up to where I was. Oh, and my knee was a little agitated, but it feels fine now! YAY! I will attempt another 3 miler on Thursday.

I came back home and got myself ready for work. I was craving a green monster (it’s been ages!), but sadly Trader Joe’s was out of spinach. Honestly, I have never seen Trader Joe’s as empty as I did on Sunday night. Never, ever go grocery shopping on Sunday night. I repeat…DO NOT WAIT UNTIL SUNDAY!!! They had practically nothing! Hence my 2% yogurt replacement. So anyway, no spinach. I compromised with SuperFood!!

In the mix this mornin’:

  • 1 packet Amazing Grass Super Food
  • 1/2 c of almond milk
  • 3/4 c of frozen berry medley
  • 1/4 c greek yogurt
  • couple of ice cubes

Oh it was brilliant!! Green purple monster how I’ve missed thee.

I just had to get a coffee on my way to work. I was seriously freezing and about to fall asleep standing up. Grande coffee did just the trick.

So did listening to Ryan Seacrest’s morning show on kiisfm.com. Have I mentioned how much I love Ryan Seacrest?!? And I started to love him way before American Idol, back when he was a DJ on Star 98.7. I am quite the loyal fan πŸ™‚

For my snack I had some more greek yogurt. This time it was the 0% fat. Thank goodness.

Lunch consisted of another Dr. McDougall’s soup! Nom Nom.

I promise I will start eating real food soon. I am just too lazy. Crock pot will be put to use in the VERY near future!

In the afternoon I had this little baby pink lady apple.

I had a conference call at work so I came home a little late. I had Eric take a chicken breast out of the freezer this morning with the intention of having a nice clean dinner of chicken breast, quinoa, and more kale chips! I was craving it ever since I woke up this morning!

De-freaking-licious I tell you. This was my first REAL experience with quinoa. I was pleasantly surprised. I even cooked it with water (I wanted to use chicken broth). Quinoa, where have you been all my life. Quinoa is the new rice.

Last but not least, Eric and I got our very first plant for Christmas. It is going to bloom into a beautiful amaryllis flower in 4-6 weeks!!! Oh, and her name is Julep πŸ™‚

Now it’s time to finish the Biggest Loser!! It’s so moving!!

Leave a Reply

