Vegetarianism

Happy Monday all. Let’s kick off this week by welcoming Sarah back into the blogosphere. It feels good. I hated to be off track in my life and blogging, but I think I finally feel comfortable and have a firm grasp on the lifestyle balance I have been lacking in the past month or so.

Instead of a typical day-to-day eats post, I will give you a little recap on where I have been and what I’ve been up to—and of course, eating.

In the past month…

  1. I finally saw Avatar, Julie and Julia and the Hurt Locker. These were all movies on my radar for quite some time, and I finally got around to watching these. Eric and I saw Avatar on a dreary Saturday afternoon a few weeks back, and after being extremely skeptical, it turned out that I LOVED it!! Honestly, quite a phenomenal movie.  On the other hand, Julie and Julia was NOT what I hoped for. I actually found it a teeny bit boring. I loved Meryl Streep and the Julia Child character, but I found Amy Adams (Julie) to be really whiny and annoying. I apologize if anyone adores this movie, but it just didn’t meet my high expectations.
  2. Eric and I celebrated our four year anniversary. Unfortunately he was in Texas at a job interview, BUT he is the best ever and had these flowers delivered to my work.

Picture 023

  1. I am getting more adjusted to my job. It was a bit rough at first because I had such a strict routine in my old job that I completely fell into. When I say strict routine I mean I came into and left the office at the same exact time each day. I was able to plan my meals, workouts and everything. Which is comfortable. This new job has not allowed for this. Now that I have become more comfortable and know what to expect I have been able to fit in workouts and pack lunches accordingly.
  2. My knee is CURED! *knocks on wood* this officially happened about 2 weeks ago. I was at the gym twice a week running on the treadmill and my knee did not hurt ONCE! Hurrah! This past weekend I completed 6.2 miles on Saturday and 5 miles on Sunday. I know that I may be pushing it a bit, but honestly, it felt good and I physically felt fine. Next up, sign up for a half marathon in March.
  3. I AM GOING TO EUROPE IN MARCH!!!!! Details to follow…
  4. I found a new favorite breakfast/snack. I cannot give myself credit for this, but I recently saw Tina from CarrotsN’Cake make these “faux” oatmeal raisin breakfast cookies. I’ve tried to make breakfast cookies in the past, and I have failed miserably. This on the other hand…is…fan-freaking-tastic. I honestly have one every day.

Fan-Freaking-Tastic Breakfast Cookie (adapted from Tina’s recipe):

  • 1/4 c of oats
  • 1/8 c of liquid eggwhites
  • 2 tsp/ brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. WW flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • handful of raisins
  • sprinkle of flaxseed
  • chocolate chips
  • cinnamon
  • dash of vanilla

Picture 009

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and flatten with a spoon.

Picture 010

Heat in the microwave for 45 seconds and let cool. Once cooled it will have kind of a spongey texture and slide right out of the bowl. I usually top mine with almond butter/pumpkin butter/bananas or just eat plain!

This has roughly 150-200 calories depending on the goodies that you put inside!

Picture 011

  1. I also found this hidden love of sushi that I didn’t know that I had

Picture 005

Some kind of scary octopus tentacle….

Picture 006

Fabulous spread of ahi, tuna, halibut, etc.

Picture 007 Sushi boats!

Picture 008 “Halloween roll”.” I can’t even tell you what is in/on this, but it was SOOOO good.

  1. Just recently had  FABULOUS weekend with one of my besties, my bf and his friend.

Picture 013

This picture may be hard to see, but it was a first time for Eric and I to actually “host” people at our apartment. So we bought a bunch of appetizers including:

  • random veggies: grape tomatoes, carrots, snap peas, green beans
  • pita chips and hummus
  • guitless gourmet tortilla chips, salsa and guacamole
  • chedder cheese, blue cheese and sesame crackers
  • beer, champagne and wine (random I know)

Picture 014

Picture 015

Picture 017

Killer pomegranate mojitos…..

Picture 018 Picture 020

  1. Also, lots of greek yogurt messes have taken place, along with cookie baking, banana and almond butter mashes and many other foods I have yet to document.

Picture 024 Picture 026Picture 012

  1. Lastly, I am back on track folks. This includes:
    1. Blogging on a more regular basis. Hopefully once a day, working back into a regular routine. Reading blogs, COMMENTING on blogs. You all are so wonderful. Even throughout my hiatus, I notice people STILL read my blog.
    2. Running 4 times a week, lifting weights 2-3 times a week. Hopefully incorporating 1 day of cross training (we will see if this actually happens)
    3. Drink plenty of water in excess.
    4. Incorporate protein into EVERY meal.
    5. Training for a half marathon (and eventually a marathon)!
    6. Making dinner at least 3 nights a week. Any simple, easy, healthy, CHEAP recipes you can suggest?!?
    7. Starting today, February 1, I will practice vegetarianism (perhaps a pescatarian) for the entire month!  A new challenge for me!! (hence the title of this post)

It’s good to be back ya’ll!!!

xoxo, Sarah

5 thoughts on “Vegetarianism

  1. Drea says:

    Aww yay! she returns!! sooo happy…love the photos haha. AND..you are a fantastic hostess my love..i want more cookies. coming to visit stat. ❤ glad you're back.

  2. natalielynn says:

    Hey Sarah!

    So glad you’re back in the blogosphere! I’ve been a vegetarian for a few months (it sort of happened on accident, but I love it so I’m sticking with it) and it’s really easy to find cheap, healthy food to make. Since you’re just starting out, I thought I’d give you my “staples” (in no particular order) that I tend to stick with every week:

    -Trader Joe’s high protein extra firm tofu
    -quick cooking steel-cut oats
    -bananas
    -sprouted wheat bread
    -almond butter
    -spinach
    -black beans
    -baby carrots
    -hummus
    -sprouts
    -avocado
    -apples
    -frozen stir fry veggies
    -brown rice
    -almond milk
    -Trader Joe’s Black Bean Soup
    -Amy’s Lentil Vegetable Soup

    My main cheap & easy meals are steel-cut oats and bananas, veggie sandwiches with hummus and avocado, black bean or lentil veggie soup, and stir fry with tofu and brown rice.

    Good luck!

  3. catrina says:

    Welcome back, chica. now i have something to look forward to in the mornings when i get to work!

    I cross train with yoga…that I’ve recently gotten in to. It is awesome and it kicks my butt. See if there is a Bikram yoga studio down near you guys and we can go together and have our lives changed.

    my 5k is coming up! i ran 2.1 miles consecutively last night….i can do it. i’ve come along way from not running at all and have been training a lot! i can’t run the one in june…although it does look fun, i have to be in WA for school that weekend. we’ll have to look for another.

    i’ve often thought of trying out veganism for a month or two…but i usually end up deferring to michael pollan’s food rules because i miss cheese too much haha.

Leave a Reply

