Tofu Black Bean Tacos

Enter day two of venturing into the vegetarian world. So far—easy peasy. All thanks to my FABULOUS dinner (and Whole Foods recipe bank) of Tofu Black Bean Tacos!

Sarah’s Tofu Black Bean Tacos (adapted from Whole Foods):

Picture 031

  • 1 package of extra firm tofu
  • 1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 gloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 5 green onions, finely chopped
  • 1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 whole wheat, low carb, hi fiber tortillas (I used La Tortilla Factory 8 inch tortillas)
  • Handful of spinach (or any kind of lettuce)
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Any shredded cheese (optional)
  • Greek yogurt/sour cream/guacamole (optional)

I first took the tofu out of the package and patted (squeezed) it with some paper towels and let it sit, wrapped up in paper towels to soak up extra moisture.

Meanwhile, I chopped the green onions and garlic and put them in a small bowl and set them aside.

Picture 027

I then took the tofu and sliced it into tiny 1/2 inch cubes and placed in a bowl. I then added the cumin, salt and chili powder to the tofu. *the recipe called for coriander and oregano but I didn’t have any—this probably would taste a million times better.

I then smashed the tofu with the spices with a fork. I kept at it until the tofu resembled a ground meat texture.

Picture 028

Then I heated 1 tbsp. of olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. I added the garlic and onions and sautéed for about 2 minutes, or until fragrant.

I then added the tofu and cooked for about 10-12 minutes until the tofu firmed up a bit.

Meanwhile, I preheated the oven to 350 and had Eric make these little makeshift tortilla stands so I could make my soft tortillas a bit crispy without frying them. I baked these for about 5-7 minutes until they were just a tad crisp.

Picture 029

After the tofu cooked I added the can of black beans and cooked until it heated through.

I then took a taco shell and put in some lettuce, the tofu/bean mixture, and a dollop of Greek yogurt and guacamole. YUM!

I also ate a zucchini and some extra tofu/bean mixture on the side.

All together now.

Picture 031

This was honestly a fabulous dinner. I was quite impressed with the recipe—considering I didn’t have all of the ingredients! I will definitely make this again.

Moving on to today….

This morning I woke up bright (or dark) and early to hit the gym before work. I did a modified hill/speed interval run.

Time (minutes): Speed (mph): Incline %:
0-4 4 1
4-6 6.5 2
6-8 6.5 3
8-10 6.5 4
10-15 6 6
15-20 7 3
20-21 6.5 2
21-22 8 2
22-23 6.5 2
23-24 8 2
24-25 6.5 2
25-26 8 2
26-28 5.5 8
28-30 6 6
30-32 6.5 4
32-34 7 2
34-37 7.5 2
37-40 6.5 2
40-43 4 0

Total distance: 4.5 miles

That was a KILLER workout. I was dripping with sweat by the time I left.

I downed a green monster on the way to the train station. Delish. (protein: Check!) Don’t worry, I was sitting at a stop light!

Picture 034

  • 2 cups of spinach
  • unsweetened vanilla almond breeze
  • scoop of almond butter
  • chocolate protein powder
  • half a frozen banana
  • plenty of ice

This green monster did not keep me full for long. About 3 hours later I was a starvin’ marvin. I ate my favorite go to snack. Greek yogurt with a cornucopia of cereal mixed in. (protein: Check)!

Picture 035

I was so so so so so excited to eat lunch. It was all I could think about all morning. It was a repeat of last night’s fabulous tofu black bean tacos with some zucchini and tomato sauce on the side. (protein: Check!)

Picture 036

I plugged away at work for a few hours until I found my tummy grumbling around 3:30. I walked down to starbucks and ordered myself an iced coffee. I ate this with one of the BEST, most crisp, pink lady apples I have ever had. I also put a smear of almond butter on the apple for good measure. (protein: Check! But not quite enough).

Picture 038

Last but not least….the Oscar nominees were announced this morning!

Food, Inc. is nominated for an Oscar in the category of Best Documentary Feature! WOO HOO. Funny thing is, I’ve never actually SEEN this movie. It has been on my radar since I first heard of it (so has the book), but I haven’t been able to find time to watch it (please refer to yesterday’s post about how it took me FOREVER to see Julie and Julia—and I’m a FOODIE/blogger)!! Have any of you seen Food, Inc.? If so, what are your reactions and thoughts on the documentary? If you were a carnivore did it turn you vegetarian? Did it make you curse the FDA and their regulations? Please let me know! Also, is it worth the money to go and rent/buy?? Or should I just read the book? Maybe I should turn this post into “Sarah asks question after question because she’s rambling?”

Now I am getting geared up for LOST! Any Losties out there?? Will we finally get some answers tonight?

Until next time!!

2 thoughts on “Tofu Black Bean Tacos

Leave a Reply

