New Race Details!

So I just signed up for my very first Half Marathon! The Santa Cruz Half Marathon! 

image

It’s actually my second race ever! I ran a 5k in October and was scheduled to do my local Turkey Trot but could not participate due to my knee injury.

Now that I am back in action I have my sights set on more races! Ultimately I want to run the Nike Women’s Marathon this October in San Francisco. Gotta build up to 26.2!

Running has become a BIG part of my life—more so than I ever thought. I really learned this when I was unable to run for almost 1.5 months this past holiday season. I was itching to get out and hit the pavement but my knee wouldn’t allow it. I always felt sluggish even when I tried to do other activities like biking and walking. I needed to run. Running is my time. Me and the ground. I think that’s why I enjoy it so much. I used to think it was so cliché and cheesy when people would say that running “clears their mind.” Little did I know I would soon experience this. And you get to really experience and take in all that nature has to offer (which I rarely do—something I wish I did more often)!

 IMG_0120 IMG_0121 IMG_0036

After a long day at work I know I can wake up in the morning and have a solid hour to myself. No emails, no phone calls, nothing but miles.

I think this pretty much sums it up:

“I always loved running… it was something you could do by yourself, and under your own power.  You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your lungs.”  – Jesse Owens

Oh, and this too:

"Life is short… running makes it seem longer." – Baron Hansen

Oh and two (possible more) of my best friends from high school are also running in this race! I smell a little reunion coming on!

2 thoughts on “New Race Details!

Leave a Reply

