Baked Oatmeal Revelation

I must share with you all this revelation I had this morning. It came in the form of Baked Oatmeal.

Picture 181

I’ve seen baked oatmeal circling through the blogosphere, and I’ve always been interested, but I never really got around to putting forth all of the effort – now I know its SUPER easy!! And I’m already thinking of ways to add new things to it! More on this in a second….

I woke up this morning and got a quick workout in. My first real workout since my half marathon on Sunday. EEK! I need to get back on track, but I know my body needed the much needed recuperation. I took notes from my girl Janetha and did a 10-10-10 HIIT routine. It looked a little sumthin’ like this (Aaron Carter anyone?):

Machine Minutes Speed/Level
Treadmill 0-1 6
1-2 6.5
2-3 7
3-4 7.5
4-5 8
5-6 6
6-7 6.5
7-8 7.5
8-9 8.5
9-10 9.5
Elliptical (forward) 10-11 2
11-12 4
12-13 6
13-14 8
  14-15 10
Elliptical (backward) 15-16 12
*i could not change the speed back down for some reason. so i was stuck on 12 – it was tough! 16-17 12
17-18 12
18-19 12
19-20 12
Stairmill 20-21 4
21-22 6
22-23 8
23-24 10
24-25 12
25-26 4
26-27 6
27-28 8
28-29 10
29-30 12

 

The 10-10-10 part comes from spending 10 minutes on each machine. I actually REALLY enjoyed this workout! I have been skeptical and stubborn recently by only wanting to focus my cardio solely on running. For some reason I feel that I get the best workout from running (probably because it is the most difficult for me) and I feel that if I do anything less I am not getting a good workout in. I need to get this out of my head because it is so not true. Switching up cardio routines is probably the best thing you can do for your body because it keeps having to guess what it is going to be asked to do next versus always sticking with hitting the pavement. Your body gets used to repetitive things – this is why many people hit a plateau in weight loss. Also, my groin and hip are still in pain and running only 10 minutes was perfect!

I came home and preheated the oven to 375 before hopping in the shower. I came out and while I was getting ready I prepared the best new breakfast!

Baked Banana and Almond Butter Oats

  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 1/3 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • crushed walnuts
  • raisins
  • cinnamon, brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice (whatever you like)
  • dash of vanilla

I combined all ingredients (except for 1/2 sliced banana) and mixed them all together in a bowl. I poured this mixture into my cute baby casserole dish and popped it in the oven at 375 for about 12 minutes.

Picture 178

I probably would have baked it longer (about 20 minutes), but I was running out of time this morning. At this point I took it out of the oven and sliced some bananas and placed them on top along with some almond butter.

Picture 179

Back into the oven for about 5 minutes and oila! Perfect baked banana almond butter oatmeal.

Picture 180

De-freakin’-licious I tell you. I scarfed this down while watching the news (hello random volcano in Iceland that decided to erupt and now ALL England airport are closed until 1AM tonight PST – how terrible) and zipped out the door.

I decided to treat myself to a nice lunchtime stroll that inevitably ended up at Whole Foods. What can I say? I think I am just preprogrammed to head there. Today is an absolutely gorgeous day in the city. Days like this make me really love and appreciate San Francisco (being a So Cal girl at heart and all).

Behold my all time greatest weakness(es).

Picture 182

Whole Foods Hot Bar/Salad Bar

Picture 059

Kombucha

When these two meet it is the world’s greatest harmony. I can’t help but feel so clean and wholesome when I consume each of these. It feels so good knowing that you are putting good, whole, raw (for the most part) food into your belly. Only problem is, its so hard for me to stop when I am full because it is just SO tasty!!

I spent the rest of the afternoon working away like a busy bee trying to make my Friday a bit less stressful. Speaking of Friday ….. Eric and I are heading to a nice dinner with his family to celebrate his dad’s birthday! It’s what I’ve been thinking about ALL WEEK. It’s at one of our most dearly beloved favorite restaurants, Haps. It’s a fabulous steakhouse that is known for their steak (obviously) and their signature cocktails! We also adore this place because not only do they bring bread and butter to your table immediately, but they also bring a bowl of raw vegetables!!! We’re talking carrot sticks, celery sticks, green onions and radishes. We always ask the waiter for multiple veggie baskets because we just cannot contain ourselves. Okay, and some bread is consumed too 🙂 I’m a carb loving girl at heart.

Stay tuned for a most excellent restaurant recap!

3 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal Revelation

  1. Danica says:

    MMMM- your baked oatmeal turned out delish. I haven’t made it in a long time….

    I LOVE doing 10-10-10 when I really do not feeling like doing anything at all. Mentally it’s easy to say I can do this for 10 minutes and such.

Leave a Reply

