Hap’s Restaurant Recap + Other News

Happy Wednesday all! We are almost half way through our workweek – hallelujah!

As promised, I have a restaurant review for you! Last Friday night I had an opportunity to go to arguably the best restaurant in the East Bay – Hap’s Original Steakhouse in Pleasanton. Here’s a little blurb from their website:

When you visit Hap’s Original, you soon understand that this is no ordinary restaurant. From the Certified Angus steaks, broiled to perfection, to the expertly executed seafood, appetizers, unforgettable desserts and award winning wine list, this is a steakhouse to which others aspire….

At HAP’s Original, we select only Certified Angust Midwestern corn-fed beef, aged 21 to 28 days. We grill over a high heat open flame to seal in the natural flavors, served to your specifications. We cook all of our food exactly the way you like it, then serve it on a heated plate so your food stays hot throughout your meal…

You are invited to come in, sit at the bar or by the fireplace and enjoy a drink. There is no need to keep up appearances here at Hap’s Original, where everyone is family.

I started off with a glass of bubbly!

Picture 191

Since we couldn’t decide on an appetizer we ended up getting a few to share for the table.

Picture 194

House smoked salmon – oh my goodness. This was some of the most delicious salmon I have ever tasted. It had a really intense smoky flavor and pretty much fell apart in my mouth. I would get this as an entree!

 Picture 193 

New England Lump Crab Cakes – Okay people. I am not a HUGE fan of crab, but if you fry anything I’m guaranteed to try it. These crab cakes totally blew me away!! The outer fried batter was not too crunchy, but provided the right amount of resistance until you broke into the crab. I’m not sure what the sauce was that accompanied this dish – but it was heavenly.

After devouring these appetizers I decided to get a bowl of French Onion Soup. This is hands down the BEST french onion soup I have ever eaten. And the best part is that it is always consistently great!

Picture 201

You know you want that uber melted cheese….my mouth is watering.

While we waited for our main entrees we brought along a bottle of wine (and by “we” I mean Eric’s dad), and paid a very reasonable corkage fee to enjoy a fabulous bottle of wine.

Picture 199

Sorry the picture is a little foggy, but this wine was phenomenal. This was a really nice bottle of wine – definitely not the Two Buck Chuck I am used to. This was a bottle of 2004 Robert Mondavi Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve. Delicious. I had probably about 2 glasses of this.

Finally our entree came! Eric and I split the Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna with Ginger Aioli. This is another dish we ALWAYS get, and every time it is  better than before.

Picture 202

Absolutely heavenly I tell you. And to think – over a year ago I absolutely DESPISED fish of any kind. I was totally missing out for 23 years of my life.

Picture 196

We are very happy and stuffed full of delicious food. Needless to say I passed out from a food coma a few short hours later. 🙂

I woke up Saturday morning super excited to try Bodypump for the first time! I have been reading out Bodypump through many blogs like Tina’s and Julie’s. Ever since I heard about it I’ve been on the lookout for classes offered in my area. Unfortunatly there are very little certified Bodypump classes offered at my 24 hour fitness I belong to.  Little did I know that Saturday would change my life!

Saturday happened to be an “all club” workout day. So any member at any 24 hour fitness could work out at ANY club across the nation. It just so happens that we stayed at Eric’s dad’s house on Friday night, so Saturday I woke up and drove 15 miles to a whole new 24 hour fitness who actually offered the Bodypump class!

Oh. My. Goodness people. This is such a crazy good workout. Here’s a little tid bit of info about Bodypump from their website:

About BODYPUMP

 

BODYPUMP™ is the fastest way to shape up and lose body fat. It’s a toning and conditioning class with weights and is for just about everybody who wants to add strength training into their aerobic workout. The simplicity of the class makes BODYPUMP™ a great starting point to develop strength and confidence. Hot sounds and compelling choreography keep you going through each 45-minute or one-hour workout. You’ll use a step platform, a bar and a set of weights.

And check out all of these benefits:

  • Burn up to 600 calories per class for fat loss
  • Improve your strength
  • Improve your general fitness
  • Shape and tone your muscles
  • Improve your bone density
  • Gives you a sense of achievement

Seriously I was still sore on Tuesday from Saturday’s class. I am officially addicted and have to figure out how I can get more of this in my life. This is such a great class for me because honestly, I have a hard time dedicating time to strength train. I am much more of a cardio person who knows I really should be strength training, but by the time I’m done with cardio I really don’t feel like it.

Any of you readers ever try Bodypump?? What are your thoughts?

I’ll leave you with some beautiful photos Eric took while he was out in Seattle for a day! I am kind of jealous of his photo skills.

 Picture 231 

Pike’s Market + Pike’s Place (aka the street where the FIRST EVER Starbucks is located)

Picture 220 Picture 222 Picture 217

GORGEOUS Flowers at the market! Apparently most all of the bouquets are only $10. They are so beautiful and bright!

     Picture 227

His clam chowder lunch. He realized AFTER the fact that he ate it that I would probably want a picture for the blog. He tried. What can I say 🙂

I’m feeling rather spontaneous and think I may post again tonight! SHOCKER! We’ll see!

Hope your Wednesday is treating you well!

OH – and if you already haven’t check out Janetha’s post about her ONE YEAR BLOG ANNIVERSARY!! She’s hosting an AWESOME giveaway of all of her favorite things! You don’t want to miss out! (Clearly I like BOLD CAPITALIZED WORDS).

One thought on “Hap’s Restaurant Recap + Other News

Leave a Reply

