New Food Finds

First things first. After completing my first half marathon (woo hoo) I am so addicted to racing. The only downside at the moment is that my groin is still on the mend. It’s definitely healing, but I have a really hard time being gentle with it. I know that in order to participate in more races in the future I need to listen to my body and know when to rest it when its in pain. Given that, most of my workouts have been devoted to the elliptical and stairmill with brief 10 minute runs on the treadmill.

Last night I did a quick High intensity interval workout – and the entire workout was on the treadmill! My groin and hip didn’t get sore until the last 10 minutes or so. Improvement! My workout went a little something like this:

This was done at a 2 % incline:

Minutes Speed
0-5 6.5
5-10 7
10:00-10:30 9
10:30-11:00 5

I then repeated minutes 10-11 for 20 minutes and finished with a 10 minute jog/walk cooldown on a 4%incline.

I was a sweaty sweaty mess at the end of this workout. I honestly didn’t think it would challenge me as much as it did. Boy was I wrong. I loved it!

So now that I am addicted to racing I am anxiously awaiting to see if I will be able to participate in the Nike women’s half marathon this October in San Francisco!!

4-21-2010 2-32-46 PM

Get this: the race is SOOOO popular they have to do a lottery to see who can participate. Last year about 20,000 people ran the half and full marathon. WOW. I will find out if I get chosen in the next few days! Two of my friends who ran in the Santa Cruz half marathon also entered the lottery. I’m hoping we all get selected! Oh, and if you finish the race you get a super cute Tiffany’s necklace with a charm of two women running.

On to breakfast this AM! Behold my version of an egg mcmuffin:

Picture 260

This beautiful creation contained

  • 1/4 cup of eggwhites
  • sundried tomatoes
  • sprinkle of mexican cheese
  • dried basil
  • salt
  • slice of organic nitrate free ham
  • all smashed in a whole wheat high fiber english muffin

Take that Mc Donalds! This thing was delicious! I practically devoured it.

I also had a side of strawberries and blueberries for good measure 🙂

I actually had enough time to “do my hair” this morning. I’ve been DYING to recreate this messy side fishtail braid I’ve seen in a few magazines.

image

photo credit: Riccardo Tinelli
source: www.cosmopolitan.com

I just think it is so pretty and romantic looking. So here was my attempt:

Picture 267

A little messy and clearly visible bobby pins, but I was pretty impressed with my first attempt at the side fishtail braid. I will be sporting this many more times!

My mid-morning snack was a (wait for it) NEW YOGURT!

Nancy’s Nonfat Fruit on Top Blackberry Yogurt

Picture 261

This yogurt was on sale at Whole Foods and had really good nutritional stats for a fruity yogurt – the sugar is still pretty high, but at least its all natural.

4-21-2010 2-39-32 PM

It came with a case of blackberries/blackberry syrup that I proceeded to dump all over the yogurt.

Picture 262

Gave it a stir to make sure it was all incorporated….

Picture 263

Ta-da! WOW this yogurt was SOOO good! It was still pretty thick (not like my beloved greek yogurt, but close) and the blackberries went perfectly with the plain yogurt. I will definitely be getting Nancy’s yogurt in the future!

I packed a really boring (yet delicious) lunch of almond butter and pear sandwich, but when my boss suggested we take the trek to Whole Foods I couldn’t turn the offer down! The best part was I actually got a salad for less than $6!!! That never happens when I am let loose at the hot bar! Woo hoo! I also got some really yummy tea – well I have no idea if its good, but it sounds fantastic.

Picture

Yogi Tahitian Vanilla Hazelnut. Pretty much seems like you can’t go wrong in this flavor department. I plan on sipping a large mug of this while cuddling with Eric and watching Friends tonight.

I enjoyed my salad while catching up on some blogs before getting back to work.

Picture 265

I can’t even begin to tell you what’s in there. Pretty much every thing in every bin in the salad bar is in this little cardboard box of heaven.

The afternoon flew by. I was busy busy busy!! I managed to drink my new obsession – Vitamin Water Zero. This stuff is awesome!

Picture 268

I had the XXX flavor today, but my favorite is the lemonade!

Unfortunately I am impaired and cannot seem to manage to get the liquid into my mouth when I drink and I ended up with splashes all over me. What can I say – I can be quite the klutz.

Picture 266

Well I am off to find some food for dinner. I am feeling a bit lazy and don’t really feel like cooking anything. I am planning on an early morning elliptical HIIT workout so I need to get to bed early!

Goodnight bloggy friends 🙂

2 thoughts on “New Food Finds

  1. Danica says:

    I LOVE the idea of adding sun dried tomatoes to your egg mcmuffin – YUM! I NEED to try that!

    Your hair turned out so cute – you should totally be proud.

    I spill on myself almost daily I think or whenever I wear something white it seems like 😀

    Happy Earth Day!

Leave a Reply

