Siggi’s Yogurt Review and Faux Spaghetti

Dinner last night was BOMB. The star of this dinner –

Picture 269

Cute little spaghetti squash. I am a spaghetti squash virgin (or at least until last night). Remember how I said I was too lazy to make dinner? Well this seriously was BEYOND easy.

I bought a half of a spaghetti squash, but other wise you would want to cut your squash in half. Probably hot dog style (remember hot dog vs. hamburger style when folding paper in 2nd grade?) unlike this hamburger style I was forced to work with. Either way I think its fine.

Preheat the oven to 375 and spray a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray.

Scoop out the innards and seeds from the squash  – this totally reminded me of Halloween – and place the squash face down on the sheet.

Picture 270

Let ‘er bake for 40 minutes or until the inside of the squash is tender. It should look a little somethin’ like this.

Picture 271

Once cool you can kind of scrape the “spaghetti” strands out of the squash! So cool!!

Picture 272

It starts as a squash and turns into SPAGHETTI! It’s a magical veggie. I topped my “spaghetti” with roasted broccoli, cauliflower, and brussel sprouts, followed by jarred pasta sauce and a sprinkle of cheese.

Picture 274

This was delicious. and SO easy. mmmm.

After dinner Eric and I each had a bag of the new Yogi Tahitian Vanilla Hazelnut tea I bought yesterday.

Picture 277

I am a HUGE fan of this tea. And it’s not crazy expensive like the Republic of Tea – which is hands down my favorite brand of tea. A box of 16 tea bags was $3.99 at Whole Foods.

My sweet tooth was not entirely satisfied so I had a bowl of vanilla maple Arctic Zero ice cream with some trail mix on top!

Picture 278

I can’t believe an entire pint of this stuff is only about 130 calories! Talk about the perfect breakup ice cream fix.

By this time I had decided I wanted overnight oats for breakfast. So typically of me. Thinking of breakfast RIGHT after I finish dinner. So I prepped accordingly.

Picture 275

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup of greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup of oats
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • sliced banana
  • cinnamon

Picture 276

You give this all a stir and let it sit in the fridge overnight! When you wake up you top it with whatever you like and you’ve got instant breakfast!

Needless to say I woke up craving my overnight oats concoction. But I had a workout to tend to first. Boo.

I tried my best at the treadmill but only lasted 20 minutes because I was in pain towards the last 5 minutes. Nothing serious – but I did not want to push it. I then hopped on the elliptical for an additional 20 minutes with a variation of the HIIT workout I did on Tuesday. Oh. My. Gosh. Probably one of the hardest cardio workouts I’ve had in a LONG time. Yes- even harder than my half marathon 2 weeks ago. So the intervals went like this:

Basically I used this exact Precor elliptical.

 

Click to enlarge: Precor EFX 576i Elliptical Fitness Crosstrainer

I put the cross ramp at 15 for the entire time. Each minute was broken down into the following:

Minutes 1-5:

  • 30 seconds at level 12 (aiming for 155-160 revolutions per minute)
  • 30 seconds at level 7 (aiming for 115-120 revolutions per minute)

Minutes 5-10:

  • 20 seconds at level 12 (aiming for 155-160 revolutions per minute)
  • 40 seconds at level 7 (aiming for 115-120 revolutions per minute)

Minutes 10-15:

  • 30 seconds at level 12 (aiming for 155-160 revolutions per minute)
  • 30 seconds at level 7 (aiming for 115-120 revolutions per minute)

Minutes 15-19:

  • 20 seconds at level 12 (aiming for 155-160 revolutions per minute)
  • 40 seconds at level 7 (aiming for 115-120 revolutions per minute)

Minute 20:

  • 20 seconds at level 15 (aimed for 155 RPM, but only managed 142 at MOST)
  • 40 seconds at level 7

Seriously this was down right difficult. I worked up a crazy sweat. People were looking at me like I was crazy or something. I totally recommend this!

The only thing powering me through my workout was my beloved overnight oats!

Picture 282

I tossed in some blueberries, trail mix and Trader Joe’s High Fiber cereal. Delicious.

I then downed some vitamins for good measure.

Picture 280

What kind of vitamins (if any) do you take?

I really only take Vitamin D – since you can’t get that from any foods, and Triple Omega 3’s. Because I rarely eat fish.

Picture 279

Now for the title of this post. Siggi’s Icelandic Yogurt. I picked some up at Whole Foods yesterday during lunch because it was on sale. I’ve seen this yogurt many times in the stores and on various blogs, but I’ve never purchased it because its usually well over $2 for a single yogurt.

It was my lucky day…. I think I found a new love.

Picture 283

I chose the pomegranate and passion fruit flavor, but they offer so many other yummy tasting, unique yogurt flavors!

  • Acai
  • Grapefruit
  • Vanilla
  • Blueberry
  • Orange and Ginger
  • Plain

Check out the amazing nutritionals!

Picture 284 Picture 285

It always feels so good to know you are putting natural, wholesome things in your body. Especially when they taste as AMAZING as this yogurt! Not only did this yogurt have an incredible taste, but the texture and consistency was like greek yogurt!!! I’m sold.

There’s also pretty low sugar (especially compared to Nancy’s yogurt), and a great deal of protein!

Dear Whole Foods,

Please continue to keep these on sale so I can fill my belly with awesome goodness in the form of Siggi’s yogurt.

Thanks.

This yogurt also kept me full for almost 3 hours until my stomach really wanted lunch. Enter spaghetti squash leftovers!

Picture 286

This was even better the second time around!

Most of my day was busy busy busy! I love feeling productive – especially when you receive great feedback from your hard work!

Throughout the afternoon I had a plethora of snacks.

 Picture 287 

A pink lady apple and a Diet Hansen’s Ginger Ale (not so wholesome for my body, oops).

And right before leaving work I reunited with my first love: Kombucha

Picture 288

All you Kombucha lovers out there – Janetha’s giveaway is STILL going on and she is giving away a coupon for a FREE Kombucha. That instantly saves you at least $3. Imagine what you could do with that extra $3!!!

Alright all – I’m off to spend some good quality time with Eric while we catch up on some shows we’ve missed this week. Hello True Life, Millionaire Matchmaker, LOST and Real Housewives.

Life is good. And trashy.

2 thoughts on “Siggi’s Yogurt Review and Faux Spaghetti

  1. Mia says:

    I enjoy your web site. I tried Siggi’s Yogurt for first time today, it was on display at my supermarket, I bought two at the introductory price of 79 cents! The blueberry had a VERY strong taste, but I liked it. I fell in love with Kombucha a month ago, but
    Whole Foods no longer sells it. They said the alcohol level claims were false and until the company gets it right, WF won’t be selling it :(.
    Have you heard any news about Kombucha being pulled?

Leave a Reply

