Faux In N’ Out Animal Style Cheeseburger

my life = whirlwind.

10 hour work days, cleaning, laundry, gym, etc = EXHAUSTED.

But not exhausted to try our a new recipe!! Last night I was feeling so tired and lazy after a long, draining day at work. I didn’t really feel like doing anything last night except sit my butt on the couch with a big ol’ glass of vino and indulge in the Bachelorette (thank goodness Kasey is out of the picture!). Well, I definitely DID do just that, but I decided to get a little creative in the kitchen. And by creative I mean utilize my library copy of Hungry Girl’s 1-2-3 Recipe Book.

Picture 001

I was flipping through and stumbled across this gem of a recipe:

“no-buns-about-it animal-style cheeseburger”

Picture 002

Now if you live in California, Arizona, Utah or Nevada you may have been lucky enough to frequent an In N’ Out burger. If so, you know how amazing and fresh their food is. I don’t even really consider it a fast food restaurant like McDonalds or Burger King. They use fresh ingredients and make your burger (and fries) to order. Literally. They take a potato and slice it up and fry the pieces and WHAM you have your fries. No frozen ingredients my friends. Okay anyway, In N’ Out also has a “secret” menu that you don’t see when you are ordering. They have this term called “animal style” which basically means they slather their special sauce all over your fries, burger, whatever you decide to eat and top it with melted cheese. It’s divine, but not the healthiest thing in the world.

Hungry Girl has her ways and came up with a bunless version of the animal style cheeseburger. I decided to give this recipe a whirl, with my own tweaks.

For the “beef” patty I used a frozen vegan Boca burger. This was my first time trying the vegan version and it was not as good as some of their other flavors.

Picture 004

I layed out all my ingredients.

Picture 005

one slice of a sandwich thin (hiding under the spinach), spinach, tomatoes, sharp cheddar cheese, caramelized onions, mustard and lite thousand island dressing (similar to their secret sauce).

I sliced some onions and sautéed them in a pan over medium low heat until they were browned.

Picture 003

When they were finished I used the same pan to heat up my vegan boca burger. After about 5 minutes I topped it with mustard and sharp cheddar cheese and let it cook until the cheese melted.

Picture 008

Meanwhile…

Picture 007

(my frustrated, “I just need wine” face).

When the burger was done I layered all of the ingredients together to form quite a large open-faced animal style cheeseburger.

Picture 010

I had a side of roasted broccoli and cauliflower to round out my meal.

The verdict? This was DARN good! And really quick and easy! I will be making this again 🙂 Thank you Hungry Girl for the inspiration.

Alright, that’s all the time we have folks. Looking forward to Waffle Wednesday! 🙂

One thought on “Faux In N’ Out Animal Style Cheeseburger

Leave a Reply

