13.1 … what?

13.1 miles. April 11, 2010. Somehow I managed to carry my tired, aching body 13.1 miles only to have Eric carry my butt back to our hotel because I was in so much pain. Since that day running has taken a back seat in my life – not by choice mind you. I have been having knee and hip problems since that day in April. I would try and run 3 miles here, 4 miles there, but I always had to cut it short due to pain. Needless to say I was bummed out and thought that if I couldn’t run I didn’t really want to exercise. I tried the elliptical and spin class a few times, but nothing gave me the thrill that running did. I had quite the affair with Bodypump that is still ongoing to this day.

As you may recall, I was selected to participate in the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in October. The other day I received an email from Nike stating that the race was a mere three months away. Crap. Not only have I not been running, but I have not been leading the healthiest lifestyle – minimal exercising, staying up later than normal, having too much wine, not really caring all that much what I put into my body. With this email from Nike I realized I needed to get back into shape and treat my body right.

I set out for a run on Saturday morning – I took it slow and concentrated on shortening my stride to reduce the impact on my knees. I miraculously completed about 5-6 miles (not quite sure since RunKeeper freaked out on me halfway through my run). I know, I know, six miles is a bit much for not running in quite some time, but physically I felt fine. My endurance on the other hand was completely shot. I was huffing and puffing and took a few walk breaks. Once it was all said and done I felt like myself again. Although 6 miles used to be a breeze – something I would complete every Tuesday morning before work.

With my pain-free run on Saturday I decided to try a nice 4 miler yesterday after work. I am happy to report it was pain free, but just another sign that I need to work on my endurance after being out of the game for about 2 months.

I’ve got a long way to go for my half marathon in October – especially since I want to beat my previous time of 1:51:25. I’m hoping to come up with a training plan to share with you all in the next few days.

Alright on to more important things. Like food.

Oats in a jar to be precise.

Eric was putting the peanut butter jar in the trash when I exclaimed, “NO! Please save it for me so I can have oats in a jar!”

IMG_2537

In the mix this morning:

  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Pumpkin flax granola sprinkled on top

IMG_2538

Heavenly goodness. There was probably about 2 tbsp. worth of crunchy, peanuty goodness in that jar that melted and meshed with the oats. So perfect. I went to kiss Eric goodbye this morning and he said, “you smell so good. Like oatmeal and peanut butter.” Success. 

And here’s what I’ve been up to these past few weeks:

  • Visiting my family and friends for the 4th of July:

IMG_2474 IMG_2475 IMG_2496  IMG_2478 IMG_2514

(see all this wine I was talking about)?

  • BBQs galore thanks to the fabulous weather

IMG_2531

is she not the cutest thing you have ever seen?

Complete with ADORABLE treasure chest cupcakes!

IMG_2535

Is this not the most amazing thing you have ever seen? Eric’s stepmom made these cupcakes to look like treasure chests in the sea. I am going to make these – I just need a reason to do so. Who am I kidding. Everyone knows you do not have to have a reason to make cupcakes.

Taking rides in Eric’s new car!!

IMG_2529

His new job provides him with a car. A fabulous 2010 Prius that we promptly named Ross. As in Ross Gellar from friends. A match made in heaven.

  • Reading books like it’s my job
    • The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane: pretty good book. But that’s about all I can say. Probably will never read it again.
    • Sarah’s Key: One of the best books I have ever read (behind Pillars of the Earth and World Without End). Please, do yourself a favor and read this book.
    • Commencement: This book seemed like a fun, easy summertime read. 4 friends meet in college and the story tells of their life after college (so reminiscent of my own college life) It most definitely was, but it was also much more serious than I anticipated. All in all, it was a great book. I
    • American Wife: I just started this and so far I am totally engrossed. Initially I thought I would not be interested in this book, but after hearing so many great reviews I decided to give it a shot. 100 pages in and it’s totally captivated me.

I’m off to eat some lunch…I’m famished!!

2 thoughts on “13.1 … what?

  1. Shawna says:

    sarah, i totally recommend “the help” when you’ve finished “the american wife.” i too, read t.a.w. and loved it, you’ll find that you won’t be able to put it down. i was that way with “the help,” too! just a suggestion. glad you’re back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

