Running, Kashi Lunches and Wine Tasting

Life is seriously going by in warp speed lately! I barely have a moment to myself – let alone to blog. And I miss it so.

Per usual, I had a pretty jam packed weekend. Let’s recap, shall we?

Saturday morning started out on a high note with a 7 mile, pain free run! Oh it was glorious!! It was a bit harder than it used to be, but I can feel my body starting to get back to its old running self.

image

image

(seriously I love RunKeeper. If you run and  have an iPod/iPhone please download this FREE app. It is my cheaper (much cheaper) version of a Garmin Forerunner 305 – which I am so putting on my Christmas list).

Breakfast included a bowl of greek yogurt, peanut butter puffins, cheerios and cinnamon. I was sad because we were out of bananas, and my typical pre-run fuel is a slice of whole wheat toast with almond butter and sliced bananas. I’m happy to report that the greek yogurt did the job well.

I cam home, stretched my life away – I REALLY need to buy a foam roller – and got myself ready for the event of the day – WINE TASTING!!!

I had an unpictured green monster as Eric and I were leaving, but the rest of the afternoon there was a hefty amount of wine consumed.

We stopped at three wineries:

Occasio was our first stop. This was a VERY small little winery only open about 1 year.

Picture 567

I am a BIG fan of wineries that offer up free cheese and crackers!

Picture 569

This winery had a great sauvignon blanc that tasted very refreshing on this hot, 100 degree Saturday.

Next stop was a little place called Nottingham Cellars.

Picture 572

Nottingham Cellars is also a very small winery. They had a FANTASTIC zinfandel that reminded both Eric and I of Christmas time – sitting by the fire. I may or may not be counting down the hours until Christmas.

We also partook in this thing called a “vertical tasting.” I had never heard of the term, but basically you taste the same exact wine/grape over three different years. The tasting on Saturday featured Nottingham Cellar’s merlot. We started with the 2009 Merlot – still in the barrel!

Picture 571

Honestly, this was my favorite! We then tasted a 2008 out of the barrel, followed by the 2007  – which is their current release. The point of the vertical tasting was to experience how wine matures and evolves over the years. I was a big fan of this place  – mostly because they provided dark chocolate to pair along with the wine. YUM.

Picture 573

Our last stop was Ruby Hill Winery. This was my favorite place out of the three. We got to taste 10 different wines for $5!!!

Honestly, I’m not going to lie, I was definitely tipsy walking out of this place (don’t worry – I was not driving)!

We started off with Champagne and ended with a dessert port – which was served in dark chocolate cups of heaven!

Picture 582

The winery itself was super cute with lots of decorations all over the place (apparently I was in the mood for some sepia – tone lovin’).

Picture 586

Eric thinks we need to get this sign for our apartment 😉

Picture 585

Picture 579

Picture 581

BTW – I got my necklace at J. Crew last weekend for $9.99 + 30% off…so basically I got it for $7. I love it. Run out and go get one ASAP.

We came back to Eric’s mom’s house and sat outside and BBQ’d.

Picture 588

It was a great way to end the day.

Sunday was sad because I had to take Eric to the airport. We spent our morning together cleaning up the apartment, and then I went on a short 3 mile run. I was aiming for speed during this run and mission was accomplished, albeit my extreme winded-ness.

I completed 3 miles in 23:28. Just shy of an 8 minute mile (7:48 to be exact). Although the run was VERY difficult, I actually managed negative splits!

image

Woo hoo! Oh, and it was pain free to boot!

After dropping Eric off at the airport I ran some errands  -  I bought 100 capsules of fish oil for $2.79 at Target! SCORE!

Picture 566

Then I had dinner at Eric’s Dad and stepmom’s house before coming home and calling it a night (with three episodes of Friends and a cup of chamomile).

Monday came and went.

My breakfast has consisted of the following culprit for the past week:

Picture 565

Trader Joe’s sourdough wheat sandwich bread. So good with just a spread of buttah. Oh yeah, I’ve been craving butter like it’s my job. What the heck is up.

Lunches have been frozen – but non-processed frozen, a la Kashi. Seriously I do not come home from work until 7-7:30 and then I go running, eat and go to sleep. No time for lunch prep this week!

Enter Kashi’s Pesto Pasta Primavera

IMG_0369

Honestly Kashi can do no wrong. I love all of their products. My favorite is the Mayan Harvest Bake, but I can never find it at the grocery store! Grr. Oh and these babies were on sale at Target for $2.50 a piece. I bought three. In fact, I packed another one for lunch today. Exciting, I know.

Tuesday also came and went. I had to be in at work early at 8AM, and did not get home until 7. By this time I was tired, and did not want to run, but I was scheduled to run 4 miles. In the end, I ran like it was my job (oh, how I wish that were my job), with the exception of horrible stomach cramps in miles 2 and 3.

I ended up getting a bit lost, woops, and ran 5 miles instead! I’ll take it. 🙂

IMG_0371

I returned home and did planks while I talked to Eric on the phone – if you want an extra good plank work out I advise you to try and hold a conversation. It’s awesome.

The remainder of my evening was spent on the couch indulging in Pretty Little Liars – I hate to admit that I really like this show. I always end up watching the crap stuff when Eric is gone, i.e. Revenge of the Bridesmaids on ABC Family (this was also fun), and The Client List on Lifetime (I have yet to watch this, but it’s in my DVR lineup for tonight).

I woke up this morning wanting more sleep. Story of my life. I ate my repetitive breakfast of sourdough whole wheat toast and a banana and booked it to work where I am now.

My life is so not exciting. I am so thankful for everyone that reads my boring, rambling posts. You are my heart.

Hope you all have a good Wednesday. We are almost there! To Friday that is 🙂

One thought on “Running, Kashi Lunches and Wine Tasting

Leave a Reply

