NWM Recap!

I did it my friends!!!

IMG_3040

On Sunday 10.17.10, I completed my second half marathon, the Nike Women’s Half Marathon. It was the most amazing experience – I still get chills just thinking about they day. I want to relive it over and over for so many reasons….

The preparation…..

IMG_3015

all me gear – including my new spibelt! I love it – I highly recommend for runners!

IMG_3011

yes I am a nerd. I made the boy take pictures of me ….

Spending the day with amazing friends….

IMG_0430

sleepy, but lined up and ready to go!

IMG_3038

finished, and all wet from the rain.

IMG_3041

spending way too much money in Niketown

Tiffany’s Necklace – hello!!! pretty much the initial reason I signed up for this thing!

IMG_0438

IMG_0432

Swag much?

IMG_0435

The inspiration along the way….

IMG_3019IMG_3021

The grueling hills….

The cool wall with EVERY participants name on it!!

IMG_3027

The breakfast after….

IMG_3050

Finishing!!!!

62004-1313-017f

and in no pain whatsoever!

Seriously I was scared I was going to have knee pain, but it never came on. My only goals coming into this race were the following:

  1. No knee pain! Although I guess I can’t really control this, but apparently good stretching and foam rolling has paid off!
  2. Feel strong the entire time.
  3. Finish under 2 hours

I completed all three goals! Smile

My last half marathon was brutal. I was in pain the whole time. At mile 4 I was about to stop and start walking. I was exhausted.

This time around was SUCH a difference. I fueled my body properly the whole week before the race, got a good night sleep, and paced myself.

I felt amazing! Although I didn’t beat my PR of 1:51:28 (I was one minute shy!!!), I was still happy to make it under 2 hours!

Alright…I’m off to drink some champagne and eat some pumpkin froyo.

Possibly some baking in the works? I’ve got a BBQ tomorrow and I want to bring something sweet and pumpkin-y. We’ll see Smile

3 thoughts on “NWM Recap!

  1. Catrina says:

    Sarah!

    I miss you!!!! I just “caught up” with you after a couple of months. Congrats on the NWM!!! I knew you’d love it. Looks like you’re well. Coming to California in May…can’t wait. Say hi to Eric!

    Catrina 🙂

  2. Drea says:

    i love the photos!! so proud of you. thanks for being such an amazing friend!! i had so so much fun with you. let’s do this again next year!!

    love you miss pap!!

Leave a Reply

