Halloween Aftermath

How the heck did Halloween come and go so quickly? We are now on the downhill slope to Thanksgiving (3 weeks away) and Christmas. This is EASILY my favorite time of the year, and I’m afraid it’s going to get away from me!! So the next few weeks I’m going to completely soak it up. Starting with listening to Christmas music. Yes, I busted out the Christmas playlist on my way to work this morning. Gotta get into that spirit early so I can carry it two whole months!

So let’s rewind to Friday, shall we?

Eric, his mom and I went out to dinner at a vegan restaurant in San Francisco called Millennium. We had never been there before, but it was in close proximity to the opera house where we had plans to see Madame Butterfly after dinner.

IMG_3077

The entire menu is completely 100% vegan, sustainable and uses local ingredients. I’m all for it!

While we waited for our main course we enjoyed a bottle of red wine – a Grenache blend from Spain. It was delicious!

IMG_3082

Finally, our food arrived! I ordered the Seared Millet and Curry Leaf Cake:

potato, chickpea & tamarind masala, seared cauliflower, sweet peppers & greens, spicy sweet pepper, lime & mustard chutney, fennel, purslane & apple salad

IMG_3087

I obviously dove in well before I took this picture.

This meal was incredible! I have never eaten at a vegan restaurant before, but this well exceeded my expectations. All we could talk about the entire evening was how delicious and unexpected the food was!! I definitely want to revisit this restaurant in the future, and if you are ever in San Francisco, I highly recommend you stop by for a meal!

IMG_3080

Happy and full of yummy food Smile followed by a fabulous evening at the opera! It was my first opera experience, and it completely exceeded my expectations! I loved how everyone had such strong and deep voices to sing for literally 2.5 hours. No way I could ever do that. Even when I have my Wicked soundtrack marathons. My voice goes after about 3 renditions of Defying Gravity.

Saturday was a jam packed day. I started off with a long-ish run. 8  miles. I was pleasantly surprised at how good I felt the entire time.

Then it was time to carve pumpkins!

IMG_3098

Mine was supposed to be a ghost, but we determined it looked a bit more like a seal. Oh well.

This was followed by a very fall-ish evening at Eric’s mom’s house. Plenty of delicious food and wine, fireplaces and  pumpkin scented candles. Sorry no pictures – I got so wrapped up in the evening, but I can tell you I had my fair share of wine, homemade caesar salad, chicken cacciatore and pumpkin brownies (recipe coming soon)! Perfect fall evening.

Sunday was a lazy morning. Eric had to work for a few hours, so we hung around, ate breakfast (greek yogurt mess) and watched TV until he left. I then went on a quick 6 mile run before running grocery errands.

Eric and I had plans to accompany Ashley trick or treating with her friends and their families. Are they not the cutest things you have ever seen?

IMG_3101

Oh to be 4 years old again Winking smile

IMG_3105

Happy NOVEMBER Smile

Leave a Reply

