Fear. The. Beard.

The San Francisco Giants are the 2010 world series champions!

Normally this would not spark my interest whatsoever since I seldom pay attention to baseball. This however, is a special case. These boys play baseball in my city. 3 blocks from my office. I’ve been a die-hard Giants fan for about a month now. Call me a hypocrite – fine. But the energy and electricity that radiates through San Francisco spread like wildfire.

Case in point: the Champions parade.

I am lucky to work so close to the location of yesterday’s parade. I was able to take my lunch break and saunter on down for the festivities. It was utter mayhem. But let’s start at the beginning. At 7:30 AM when I arrived in the city. People were already gearing up for the parade scheduled to start at 11AM.

IMG_3115

A short hour later our office was getting ready with the appropriate noise makers and obnoxious goodies.

IMG_3118

IMG_3119

I headed down with a few people from my team about 15 minutes before the parade started. Clearly that was NOT early enough.

IMG_3122

IMG_3124

If you are claustrophobic you did not want to come anywhere near Market street or a surrounding 2 block radius.

The parade started and the crowd grew wild!

IMG_3165

Honestly, I couldn’t really see much at all, but the energy was amazing!! I felt so proud to be in the city with all of these fans (an estimated slightly under 1 million people attended!!).

IMG_3184IMG_3209IMG_3208IMG_3205

I just couldn’t wait to see the players! Particularly my newest crush: Buster Posey. He is just the cutest little thing (OK so he is 24 and married, but whatever). Luckily my wish was fulfilled after 40 minutes of standing around!

IMG_3221 

And Brian Wilson (Fear the Beard). Or his backside. Whatever. Still counts.

IMG_3220

Who up until about 2 weeks ago I really was not too found of. It’s amazing what a little bit of marketing (Fear the Beard) and coverage will do to win me over. Okay not that amazing. I am a marketer’s dream. Ask anyone. Especially Eric who will vouch for anything cute, small and pink – I automatically want. Anything from a blender to a mop to a screwdriver. If it’s pink, small and cute I want it.

I digress….

Unfortunately they were really the only players I had a chance to see! Sometimes it does not pay to be short. After the players came through my coworkers and I headed back to the office to get back to work Sad smile

All in all it was a blast. Oh, and also pretty much a rare (dare I say ‘once in a lifetime’) opportunity that had to be seized.

I love my city  and my Giants Smile

Leave a Reply

